Thread: Hinkspix Pro WiFi setup help needed

Post Thanks / Like

Default Hinkspix Pro WiFi setup help needed

Hello friends, I am just getting started in the hobby and I feel like I am very experienced in home networks and such, but for the life of me, I cannot setup the Hinkspix Pro on my WiFi network. I can connect via Ethernet without a problem. I am looking for suggestions and opinions on if the controller is performing as expected (maybe it is bad?).
    1. I am making sure that the WiFi network is 2.4Ghz.
    2. I have tried to setup the HinksPix manually with SSID and password with and without DHCP.
    3. I have tried to bind the MAC access of the Hinkspix wireless to my router with an IP.

Here is the easiest and less tech example of setup with failure.
    1. Connect via Ethernet and delete the access point and IP addresses to start from scratch. Save and Reset.
    2. Connect PC to Hinkspix WiFi and navigate to 192.168.4.1
    3. Select a 2.4Ghz Access Point from the list and enter its password at the bottom.
    4. Test the network. It is always successful.
    5. Unplug Ethernet from Hinkspix and Reset.
    6. Once Hinkspix is rebooted, the display shows IP 10.10.10.10. I check the WiFi settings on the Hinkspix and it shows a valid IP (192.168.1.36) and my network SSID.
    7. Orange light blinks on/off 1000ms to indicate a successful connection to the internet (this is my understanding).
    8. Navigating to 192.168.1.36 on the same SSID times out.
    9. My router shows no connection to 192.168.1.36.
    details.jpg
    Am I missing an obvious step? Any suggestions on what to try next?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Hinkspix Pro WiFi setup help needed

What is your planned usage of wifi on the HinksPix ? I never found a real benefit to it .

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by angus40 View Post
    What is your planned usage of wifi on the HinksPix ? I never found a real benefit to it .