Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: String length, amps and power injection

Post Thanks / Like

Default String length, amps and power injection

Happy New Year all! Newbie here who recently got bit by the pixel bug after looking at some great Christmas lights in my area, and am trying to plan for next year. Goal #1 is a house outline, using 12v pixels and a F16V3 controller which is sort of centrally located.

My question is about string length, wire gauge, and power injection. As I am still VERY green in the pixel / electrical arena, any comments, advice or wisdom imparted would be most appreciated!

Say I have a string of 12v pixels coming right off my controller that is 280 pixels long, fed by a standard 18ga pigtail getting V+ from the controller. Conventional wisdom says to power inject every 100 pixels, but I watched a video by Bill Porter (madsci1016) "xEssentials E10 power injection made easy", and his comment was no 12v pixel should be > 100 pixels away from any point of power. Based on this, for my 280 pixel string, I should be able to inject at pixel 190 only - which would be ~30' away from the controller/PSU that would feed it. I would use 14ga landscape wire for this power injection point due to distance.

However, this is where I am having trouble. 280 pixels @ .06a / pixel == 16.8 amps. Questions:

1) By adding one power injection line, I am halving the current/amp load / wire, so the lead wire and injection wire are effectively carrying 8.4amps each, right?

2) From what I gather, most pixel wiring is NOT 18ga, but rather more like 22ga or worse. If 22ga wire is only capable of safely carrying 3a of power, it seems like this is a bad idea since the wire in the 1st 50 pixels would be carrying over twice their rated capacity?