PDA

View Full Version : Motor/pulleys for Ferris wheel

Christmasnut
09-10-2015, 09:23 PM
Good evening.

I am really confused. This is my first time at animation and I have received lots of good replys. Thanks to all.

My confusion is that I have built this 8 ft Ferris wheel. It has a 1 1/4 inch metal conduit shaft on the wheel and I have been advised to run it with a wiper motor.

The problem that I am having is that if I use a sprocket I cannot find one with a bore of 6 millimeters for the wiper shaft. The same is true for a v belt pulley.

I have called numerous companies and have been told no 6 mm bore pulley or sprocket exists.

I guess I am a little slow at figuring this out.

Someone told me to use a low rpm gear motor. Is that ac or dc?

This is for a community display and I am completely stumped. Help would be appreciated

Christmasnut
William

bobbyb
09-11-2015, 07:31 AM
Hi William - I don't have a good answer but recently came across some Youtubes for "Axworthy Ghosts". These are Halloween props that use AC motors from kitchen mixers and similar devices. You can just search that term and see what they have done. Bob

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

toozie21
09-11-2015, 07:51 AM
In the past I have bought some cheapish AC motors that run at about 5RPM, I would try to look around on there for that.

I am a little confused with your sprocket issue though. So there is a shaft on your ferris wheel that is 1 1/4" diameter, right? So you need to find a sprocket that fits on there, right? Then you need a sprocket that fits onto whatever motor you end up with (which it sounds like you don't have yet). Where are you coming up with needing a bore of 6mm (which is pretty close to 1/4" btw, maybe look into those)?

Lastly, have you looked into running roller chain instead of a v-belt?

tommy
09-11-2015, 10:06 AM