PDA

View Full Version : DMX moving head lights



tucsonlights
01-20-2015, 11:38 AM
Hi all,

I just received some lights from a supplier on ebay. One is a spot and one is a flood. Both are DMX controlled and RGB. The spot has multiple Gobos that can be controlled via DMX. Here is a video of the lights with a little bit of fog to accentuate the lighting. Let me know what you guys think. I was thinking of using the spots on my roof and floods facing the street.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=52ihCJUISb8

ebrady
01-20-2015, 01:20 PM
Looks interesting..... Link?

tucsonlights
01-20-2015, 01:44 PM
Looks interesting..... Link?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/DJ-LED-MOVING-HEAD-LIGHT-9gobo-RGB-15w-DMX512-STAGE-NIGHT-CLUB-PARTY-SHOW-/141525229593?pt=US_Stage_Lighting_Single_Units&hash=item20f38fa019
http://www.ebay.com/itm/DJ-18x3w-LED-MOVING-HEAD-LIGHT-RGB-WASH-54watt-DMX512-STAGE-CLUB-PARTY-SHOW-/151526727877?pt=US_Stage_Lighting_Single_Units&hash=item2347b260c5

dmcole
01-20-2015, 07:34 PM
See the videos of Tom BetGeorge ...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z5dfpe_-Lgg

... still haven't figured out how he (a music teacher) afforded all those moveable heads ..

\dmc

jaywalk101
01-20-2015, 08:01 PM
I want some of those!! That would make for some awesome effects! I would like to try and tinker with an arduino and some stepper motors to try and achieve a similar range of motion as the gobos. I found this on Ebay and it looks pretty close to the larger spotlight you have: http://www.ebay.com/itm/18-X-3W-LED-Par-Lights-54W-RGB-PAR64-DMX-PAR-DJ-Stage-Lighting-Portable-Save-36-/331204561895?pt=US_Stage_Lighting_Single_Units&hash=item4d1d548be7

tucsonlights
01-20-2015, 08:57 PM
I want some of those!! That would make for some awesome effects! I would like to try and tinker with an arduino and some stepper motors to try and achieve a similar range of motion as the gobos. I found this on Ebay and it looks pretty close to the larger spotlight you have: http://www.ebay.com/itm/18-X-3W-LED-Par-Lights-54W-RGB-PAR64-DMX-PAR-DJ-Stage-Lighting-Portable-Save-36-/331204561895?pt=US_Stage_Lighting_Single_Units&hash=item4d1d548be7

The flood in my video is pretty much a movable version of this light. It is about 2x as bright as the 10w floods I have.

bdecosse
01-21-2015, 05:06 PM
See the videos of Tom BetGeorge ...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z5dfpe_-Lgg

... still haven't figured out how he (a music teacher) afforded all those moveable heads ..

\dmc

could be rented it sometimes works out cheaper especially with the lamp time costs on the non led ones. you can get the inflatable domes to weather protect them too but i was more concerned about his structural engineer had approved the ridge modifications as they are not exactly lightweight to handle.:w00t:

Donald

pmcpa
01-21-2015, 05:10 PM
I have a feeling those were up there for the video, then came down. Those units are too expensive to leave exposed like that

dmcole
01-21-2015, 07:53 PM
I have a feeling those were up there for the video, then came down. Those units are too expensive to leave exposed like that

FWIW, they were up on at least one other night as well, because he had them running the night ABC-TV was there for his participation in "The Great Christmas Light Fight."

I've read a lot of posts and blogs about his show and everybody mentions the moving heads.

\dmc

Tegbert
01-21-2015, 07:54 PM
I have a feeling those were up there for the video, then came down. Those units are too expensive to leave exposed like that

From what I've seen those heads are in clear dome enclosures so they possibly are up longer.


Travis

pmcpa
01-21-2015, 09:14 PM
Clear domes change things... there were no domes in the pictures, most likely taken down for the video shoot. But that makes then better equipped to handle rain.

pixelpuppy
01-21-2015, 10:02 PM
anybody know where to get clear domes that would work with the lights in the OP? I've wanted get some lights like these for a while, but held back because I would want to use them outside.

Roterhead
01-21-2015, 11:34 PM
Monoprice has these (http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=115&cp_id=11505&cs_id=1150504&p_id=612800&seq=1&format=2) which are kewl, not cheap but have a lot of DMX functions. I haven't found any stock enclosures yet, so will need a cylinder and dome to cover.

john2571
01-27-2015, 01:39 AM
Here are your two best options for enclosures. One is a hard dome one is an inflatable, both work very well.
http://www.claypaky.it/en/products/igloo
http://www.elationlighting.com/ProductDetails.aspx?ItemNumber=1658&Category=

-John

pmcpa
01-27-2015, 09:32 AM
Just contacted both... lets see $

ukewarrior
01-27-2015, 09:49 AM
fyi.... This flood is directly available from Aliexpress for about $27. Almost half of the ebay price.

I want some of those!! That would make for some awesome effects! I would like to try and tinker with an arduino and some stepper motors to try and achieve a similar range of motion as the gobos. I found this on Ebay and it looks pretty close to the larger spotlight you have: http://www.ebay.com/itm/18-X-3W-LED-Par-Lights-54W-RGB-PAR64-DMX-PAR-DJ-Stage-Lighting-Portable-Save-36-/331204561895?pt=US_Stage_Lighting_Single_Units&hash=item4d1d548be7

ukewarrior
01-27-2015, 09:50 AM
Tucsonlights,
Can you link us to the version you are using?

The flood in my video is pretty much a movable version of this light. It is about 2x as bright as the 10w floods I have.

pmcpa
01-27-2015, 09:50 AM
Plus shipping... that's where Aliexpress gets you

ukewarrior
01-27-2015, 10:01 AM
Nope.
Free shipping for this unit that I found this morning. Sorry, but I didn't bookmark it.

Plus shipping... that's where Aliexpress gets you

pmcpa
01-27-2015, 10:04 AM
Free shipping, that is a deal then! And rare on Aliexpress

tucsonlights
01-27-2015, 10:22 AM
Tucsonlights,
Can you link us to the version you are using?

Here you go. The seller is very good about responding to questions. They ship from California.
There is the spot version also on that sellers page.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/DJ-MINI-18x3w-LED-WASH-MOVING-HEAD-LIGHTS-RGB-DMX512-STAGE-PARTY-SHOW/151543649176?_trksid=p2047675.c100012.m1985&_trkparms=aid%3D444000%26algo%3DSOI.DEFAULT%26ao%3 D1%26asc%3D20131230161411%26meid%3D6a8a6ca903d6419 a856c2db69d5b9c40%26pid%3D100012%26rk%3D4%26rkt%3D 10%26sd%3D141482940421

4586shaggy
01-27-2015, 11:48 AM
Question, i know these are controlled via DMX, but how does that translate into sequencing? I have not used DMX in any of my setup to this point. So I am an admitted newb when it comes to this stuff.

pmcpa
01-27-2015, 12:10 PM
DMX is just a value of 1-255 (I think 255 is the top) per channel. Each head is a little different.

My heads have 5 channels:
1 Dimmer
2 Color Wheel
3 GOBO Head
4 X Position
5 Y Position

4586shaggy
01-27-2015, 12:16 PM
So the position on each axis is just a value 1-255 and the individual channel selects the proper value which causes it to turn. The colors operate the same way RGB operates.

pmcpa
01-27-2015, 12:20 PM
No on the colors... the older ones have "Color wheels" that have colored filters on them, as the older heads use discharge or halogen lights. Value 1-255 translates to the position of the wheel

4586shaggy
01-27-2015, 12:23 PM
Gotcha. So can you mix colors on the color wheel ones or are you stuck with R G B separate? I'm assuming most new ones will tell you if RGB are separate and mix able..?

4586shaggy
01-27-2015, 12:24 PM
What's the GOBO Head?

4586shaggy
01-27-2015, 12:25 PM
Nevermind, Google is my fiend today. Go the GOBO

jaywalk101
01-27-2015, 12:32 PM
I'm still thinking about pursuing the DIY stepper motor option with Arduino. I ordered a couple of Nema 17 stepper motors and two easy drivers.. I think I'm also going to need some end stops so I can tell where the stepper motors to stop turning in each direction. Thinking about using either E131 control or using individual channels on the Ren48LSD to trigger the movements. Just not sure if the effort is worth it or not. Still think it would be a fun learning experience.

pmcpa
01-27-2015, 03:00 PM
Here are your two best options for enclosures. One is a hard dome one is an inflatable, both work very well.
http://www.claypaky.it/en/products/igloo
http://www.elationlighting.com/ProductDetails.aspx?ItemNumber=1658&Category=

-John
The Clay Paky Igloo has a retail price of $3805... ouch!

ukewarrior
01-27-2015, 03:08 PM
Seems to me the protocol should be DMX or Renard with a common chip so folks could switch them out.
There are also off the shelf drivers from pololu and others that are small and inexpensive.

I'm still thinking about pursuing the DIY stepper motor option with Arduino. I ordered a couple of Nema 17 stepper motors and two easy drivers.. I think I'm also going to need some end stops so I can tell where the stepper motors to stop turning in each direction. Thinking about using either E131 control or using individual channels on the Ren48LSD to trigger the movements. Just not sure if the effort is worth it or not. Still think it would be a fun learning experience.

pixelpuppy
01-27-2015, 03:08 PM
Nope.
Free shipping for this unit that I found this morning. Sorry, but I didn't bookmark it.
Help us out here. Often when AliExpress has free shipping its a limited time offer. Can you go back and find the link and share it with us?

ukewarrior
01-27-2015, 03:43 PM
$22.58 each if you buy two. Free Shipping. $23.28 for 1
http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Free-shipping-18-3W-Led-Stage-Light-High-Power-RGB-Par-Light-With-DMX512-Master-Slave/32266924355.html (http://www.aliexpress.com/item/18W-18Leds-PAR64-DMX-512-18W-AC-110-220V-LED-Stage-Laser-Light-DJ-Par-RGB/32276562605.html)


Help us out here. Often when AliExpress has free shipping its a limited time offer. Can you go back and find the link and share it with us?

jchuchla
01-27-2015, 05:01 PM
That link isn't a moving head, it's just a cheap DJ style LED PAR. You had me all excited!

pmcpa
01-27-2015, 05:10 PM
FYI that also isn't water proof.... but at that price, who cares!!

jaywalk101
01-27-2015, 05:20 PM
I picked one up to test with... Will give me something to tinker with..

ukewarrior
01-27-2015, 05:31 PM
Correct,
I was just pointing out a better price than the same thing referenced on ebay earlier.

That link isn't a moving head, it's just a cheap DJ style LED PAR. You had me all excited!

drm1963
01-24-2016, 07:17 AM
I did find these on Aliexpress and ordered a total of 4 of them.
Cree 12W RGBW Led Beam Moving Head Wash Light,DMX512 Stage Moving Led http://goo.gl/h1JmtA

Now I will have to find someone who has incorporated moving heads into their show to find out what the sequence may look like or how to control the value 0-255 that should be injected into each DMX channel to control them.

I am sure for weather protection the local hobby store my wife visits will have some acrylic globes that I can use to fabricate a housing to protect them from the weather.

croberts
02-08-2016, 04:34 AM
I did find these on Aliexpress and ordered a total of 4 of them.

Funny, I was just looking at the exact same ones. I see it says it uses 11/13 DMX channels (seems like a lot). They also use Master/slave.

Now I wonder if the 11/13 covers only one light or as many as you have in series.

Another question, would it include it's own internal DMX board for the 11/13 DMX channels?

bdecosse
02-08-2016, 06:24 AM
watch out the master/slave relationship is usually not enabled when in dmx mode , the assumption in the non festive lighting world that if you have dmx control you have a universe spare to control a stack of these individually.
the master/slave is usually limited to the presets on board
13 channels for a moving light is pretty tame these days. I had some Martin units through on demo recently that tied up 45 channels each. they will not be making an appearance in my christmas show :-)


Bdecosse

ukewarrior
02-08-2016, 10:06 AM
Be sure to share your final result.

I did find these on Aliexpress and ordered a total of 4 of them.
Cree 12W RGBW Led Beam Moving Head Wash Light,DMX512 Stage Moving Led http://goo.gl/h1JmtA

Now I will have to find someone who has incorporated moving heads into their show to find out what the sequence may look like or how to control the value 0-255 that should be injected into each DMX channel to control them.

I am sure for weather protection the local hobby store my wife visits will have some acrylic globes that I can use to fabricate a housing to protect them from the weather.

pixelpuppy
02-08-2016, 11:42 AM
I am sure for weather protection the local hobby store my wife visits will have some acrylic globes that I can use to fabricate a housing to protect them from the weather.
I thought the same thing, but haven't found it yet. I'd like to know if you find something affordable.

tucsonlights
02-08-2016, 01:30 PM
This is what I did. I built a platform/box out of plywood and 2x4s. I bought an acrylic globe from http://www.azpartsmaster.com/Products/12-Globe-Acrylic-Neckless-Light-Shade-Clear__F35108A.aspx. And used an HVAC ceiling register to mount the globe. The Globe is attached with aquarium silicone. The entire enclosure is sealed with silicone and painted in exterior latex.317173171831719

ukewarrior
02-08-2016, 02:07 PM
How have these worked?
Do they produce much heat?
Are you at altitude around Tucson where you might get moisture? If so, do you have to worry about condensation?
I'm just trying to figure out the what might have to be done in a Northern climate.

Your rig looks great. Very clever with the latching lid.
Thanks for sharing the pictures.

This is what I did. I built a platform/box out of plywood and 2x4s. I bought an acrylic globe from http://www.azpartsmaster.com/Products/12-Globe-Acrylic-Neckless-Light-Shade-Clear__F35108A.aspx. And used an HVAC ceiling register to mount the globe. The Globe is attached with aquarium silicone. The entire enclosure is sealed with silicone and painted in exterior latex.317173171831719

tucsonlights
02-08-2016, 02:35 PM
How have these worked?
Do they produce much heat?
Are you at altitude around Tucson where you might get moisture? If so, do you have to worry about condensation?
I'm just trying to figure out the what might have to be done in a Northern climate.

Your rig looks great. Very clever with the latching lid.
Thanks for sharing the pictures.

They produce a little heat I wouldn't say it is a big problem. The lights have fans in them and I have vent hole at the bottom of the enclosure. These sat outside from 11/27/15 to 1/1/16 they have been through a few major rain storms and haven't shown any signs of moisture problems. I elevated these about 10" from the ground and with the vent hole it creates a convection. In a snowier or wetter climate there may have to be a few tweaks to keep the lights components dry.

thebaronn
02-08-2016, 06:14 PM
From what I've seen those heads are in clear dome enclosures so they possibly are up longer.


Travis

I am lucky enough to have seen behind the scene. (he moved from 80 miles to 10 miles away from me, lol)
They are mounted on a platform mounted on the back 1/2 of the roof. They are out there 24/7 for the whole season.
The beams are apparently very hot. He says he has to pay attention because if a spot gets "stuck" it will scorch the roof! (which has happened)
They are absolutely massive!

Haydenp
02-12-2016, 12:33 PM
those AliExpress lights might just be cheap enough to give them a whirl.
Living in WI, its always raining snowing or both, the issue has always been the cost of the enclosures. I wonder if its possible to vac form a suitable shape to fit over those lights. hurm... might have to try it.

croberts
02-13-2016, 06:07 AM
I still have not seen an answer if the lights will need an additional DMX board to run them on top of the addresses they will use. If they use 11/13 channels having to buy another controller to use them makes a big difference than just reserving DMX addresses.

Haydenp
02-13-2016, 09:49 AM
They are DMX fixtures, so there is no additional board required. Just assign it the channels on your existing DMX network and away you go.

NkySpike65
02-13-2016, 01:44 PM
Here is a link ( not the same unit that is in this post ) from just doing a Google search for "DMX controlled moving head Manual".
If you go to page 16 and 17, you will see how 14 channels of DMX are used for that unit. Again, this is not the manual for the same unit mentioned is this post. It's just to show you why 14 channels of DMX are needed for that unit.

http://www.microhpro.com/images/discontinued-product/0turbo250r.pdf

croberts
02-14-2016, 02:12 AM
Haydenp and NkySpike65, Thank you both.

croberts
02-15-2016, 03:45 AM
I ended up ordering two of the CREE Led 12w Moving Head Spot Effect Light Mini Lighting DJ KTV Disco Beam Lights RGBW/Pure White Color (http://www.aliexpress.com/item/2pcs-lot-CREE-Led-10w-Moving-Head-Spot-Effect-Light-Mini-Lighting-DJ-KTV-Disco-Beam/32381893318.html) for $79.90 each. I will try them out and if they seem to work well enough I'll order a couple more.

croberts
02-15-2016, 05:37 AM
OK I have one more question. Sorry I'm still learning as I go. I have an Alphapix 16 V2 sending DMX to a 27Ch Dumb RGB controller using the CAT5 input. All 27 channels on the card are full with 9 dumb RGB strips. Can I still use the XLR output from the card to control these lights or should I use one of the other DMX outputs on the Alphapix 16 V2 for this? I am not familiar with DMX but I would think that it should still pass the data as long as I have the addressing correct.

Haydenp
02-15-2016, 10:58 AM
you should be able to use the DMX output on the dumb controller as long as there are channels left in the universe you are using. The beauty of DMX is its ability to daisy chain devices like that.

croberts
02-25-2016, 02:51 AM
whoo hoo! I got my lights. Just playing with them in sound mode is pretty cool. It saves having to sequence every song. I have them plugged into the dumb RGB card and have my addressing figured out. Now I just have to figure out how to set the 0-255 settings in LOR or xlights.

croberts
02-25-2016, 04:37 AM
Fricken Awsome! I got them working with Xlights/Nutcracker! OK I'm a geek but a happy one right now. It's 12:30am and I have to get up and drive 165 miles to work in the morning so I will post details tomorrow if anyone is interested on how I got them working. Who needs sleep anyhow.

djl7780
02-25-2016, 09:52 AM
Fricken Awsome! I got them working with Xlights/Nutcracker! OK I'm a geek but a happy one right now. It's 12:30am and I have to get up and drive 165 miles to work in the morning so I will post details tomorrow if anyone is interested on how I got them working. Who needs sleep anyhow.

Interested!

Haydenp
02-25-2016, 02:53 PM
yeah! what he said ^ :)

croberts
02-26-2016, 04:21 AM
It wasn't super complicated but it didn't work until all the pieces of the puzzle went together.
I don't want to overpower this page so for now I will just put a link to a page on my website.
Once I get a little better with the sequencing I can add a new thread with a video and more pictures.
My Moving Lights configuration (http://www.tophersworld.com/christmas_configuration_moving_lights_xlights.html )

31972

djl7780
02-26-2016, 10:26 AM
Just checked out your site, so you had to have a RGB Dumb Controller between the Alphapix and the Moving heads? Does the Alphapix not do DMX out like a 682 (I don't know that is why I am asking). I have a 682 but have only used it for pixels. Can I run the heads off of one of the outputs set for DMX instead of adding a dumb controller in the mix?

croberts
02-27-2016, 02:49 AM
Yes, the Alphapix has 3 DMX universes independent of the 16 outputs. You still need a dumb RGB controller to control the dumb RGB lights. It has the XLR in/out which is an easy connection to the moving lights.

In your case you could cut one end off the XLR cable and use it on one of your 682 outputs (make sure you cut the right end:happy: ). I could have done the same with one of my DMX outputs but since I already have the controller with XLR outputs it was easier.

I overlapped all three on universe one since I have room. If I add any more moving lights I will clear the pixels from universe 1 but that would mean remapping my mega tree. I might end up doing it now so it doesn't hurt as much later.

croberts
03-20-2016, 05:00 AM
I am updating this post. Last weekend we had a Luau in our back yard for our 8th anniversary.

I built a 8 x 12’ stage, a tiki bar, a 96” rear projection screen. My wife setup tables with personalized water bottles and more. We had plenty of Tiki torches around the yard as well. We hired a group of hula dancers with an authentic drummer which left all of our guests amazed.
After the Hula dances and the video slide shows on the rear projection I had one sequence I had made for the event.

I used the song Pina Colada. I had a 50 x 12 spaced 2 ” apart (My mega tree on its side). Two 20 x 8 meteor light grids. 4 rows of 300 dumb RGB lights and the two disco (moving lights).
I started the sequence with just the main panel moving to the music but when the main rif came on the side grids came to life as well as the moving lights.

I heard so many people hooting and hollering when that happened that I knew it was worth my time.

I will order two more for my upcoming Christmas setup.

32178

The main grid and moving lights in the background

32179

Main grid in the background

32180

Side lights in the background

32181

Unfortunately I didn't get any pics or video of the moving lights but they worked perfectly.

pixelpuppy
03-20-2016, 09:47 AM
That luau party looks fun. :yeah: I wish you has some pics or videos of the moving head lights in action. :blush:

Did you use any smoke, fog, or haze? I got one of those lights last year for testing. I'm pretty impressed with it, but its not powerful enough to see beams in the ambient air without some additional haze.

croberts
03-21-2016, 01:40 AM
I had a fog machine but didn't need it. We had 6 tiki torches going and they provided enough smoke to see the lights. I have tried to get some video of just the main lights but so far with my gopro it was all washed out. I still have it out back covered with a tarp. I will try again until I get it looking better.

croberts
12-24-2016, 06:43 AM
I ordered two more of these lights. They are also fun at parties. You can set them to move and change colors to the sound. It helps that the price has gone down.

Popo-B-Trippin
12-04-2017, 01:08 PM
To resurrect an old thread... Question about the DMX wiring aspect of this and an E682;

If the DMX wire is three wire (+, - and GND), do you use all three when plugged into the board or are you just looking for the data signal since the DMX unit is already powered?

RobG
12-04-2017, 04:27 PM
Are they for indoor use only or can you have them outside? They look indoorish.

tucsonlights
12-04-2017, 04:43 PM
To resurrect an old thread... Question about the DMX wiring aspect of this and an E682;

If the DMX wire is three wire (+, - and GND), do you use all three when plugged into the board or are you just looking for the data signal since the DMX unit is already powered?just use POS and neg no ground I run all my dmx devices from a f16v3 with no issues.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Popo-B-Trippin
12-04-2017, 05:48 PM
just use POS and neg no ground I run all my dmx devices from a f16v3 with no issues.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Tucson,
I actually messed up my question... The output on the board is, as we all know, +, Data and Ground (not +, - and Ground as I had previously asked about). There are 3 wires from the DMX cable. How does that translate to our controller boards, meaning, which wire goes to which output on the board and do we use all of them or not.

Sorry for the double question.

Chris

jchuchla
12-04-2017, 05:58 PM
DMX is a balanced transmission line. The + is the main signal. The - is the inverse of the main signal. Ground is ground. The idea is that any noise on the line can be eliminated by cancelling it out at the other end. If your device needs to see a proper balanced DMX signal, then that's what you need to send it.
Some devices will work without it. If you have one of that type, then you'd just use + and Gnd, and skip the - signal.

The different controller do it differently. Some only send single wire unbalanced DMX. That is, it doesn't give you a - signal. If this is your case, and your device needs a properly balanced signal, then you need a serial to RS485 converter board. You can find these on amazon and ebay.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B014QNI0BC/ref=asc_df_B014QNI0BC5291127/?tag=hyprod-20&creative=395033&creativeASIN=B014QNI0BC&linkCode=df0&hvadid=198066815951&hvpos=1o1&hvnetw=g&hvrand=15638596495754940093&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=&hvdev=c&hvdvcmdl=&hvlocint=&hvlocphy=9021603&hvtargid=pla-319901615408

Popo-B-Trippin
12-04-2017, 06:09 PM
DMX is a balanced transmission line. The + is the main signal. The - is the inverse of the main signal. Ground is ground. The idea is that any noise on the line can be eliminated by cancelling it out at the other end. If your device needs to see a proper balanced DMX signal, then that's what you need to send it.
Some devices will work without it. If you have one of that type, then you'd just use + and Gnd, and skip the - signal.

The different controller do it differently. Some only send single wire unbalanced DMX. That is, it doesn't give you a - signal. If this is your case, and your device needs a properly balanced signal, then you need a serial to RS485 converter board. You can find these on amazon and ebay.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B014QNI0BC/ref=asc_df_B014QNI0BC5291127/?tag=hyprod-20&creative=395033&creativeASIN=B014QNI0BC&linkCode=df0&hvadid=198066815951&hvpos=1o1&hvnetw=g&hvrand=15638596495754940093&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=&hvdev=c&hvdvcmdl=&hvlocint=&hvlocphy=9021603&hvtargid=pla-319901615408

I don't know why I'm having trouble wrapping my head around this...

I have an E682. It's my understanding from earlier posts that you can control DMX elements directly from that. I am struggling with how exactly the 3 wire DMX cable gets connected to, for me specifically, an E682. The output from the E682 is +, Date and Ground whereas the DMX cable is +, - and Ground. Which one of those 3 is the data line?

jchuchla
12-04-2017, 06:18 PM
Oh, that's where you're confused. Let's expand the labeling on the connectors. That should clear it up.

682
Voltage +
Clock
Data
Ground (power and signal ground)

DMX
Data + (the main data signal)
Data - (inverse of Data +)
Ground (signal ground)

There is no power on a DMX line. V+ from a controller would never be connected to a DMX line.

So before even consulting a manual. We can see we have two matching signals. 682 Ground matches DMX Ground. 682 Data matches DMX D+ So now the remaining question is if the 682 can do balanced DMX or not. I don't have one on hand, so I'll check the manual for the specifics (http://sandevices.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/11/E682_Operating_Manual.pdf). On the last two pages of the manual, there's a section called "2-wire balanced Outputs" Here's there's a pinout diagram. It shows that in this mode, the Clock (C) terminal is repurposed for DMX Data -. You also do need to install the jumper correctly on a per-output basis in the J22 jumper section.
(having the jumper wrong won't break anything, but it won't work either)

Popo-B-Trippin
12-04-2017, 06:45 PM
Perfectly explained... Thanks Jon!

Now to have some fun planning for next year!