PDA

View Full Version : Mortar Racks



teberle
07-02-2007, 09:17 AM
I have just finished my mortar racks and lauch panel for the fourth. I will post pictures here tonight.

FireGod
07-03-2007, 09:12 PM
I hope it works better than my last one. We had 112 mortar tubes and when the first one went off, it took on a life of its own. It was cool but did not last long.

tconley
07-03-2007, 09:12 PM
Pictures???

teberle
07-04-2007, 10:25 AM
Here are some images.

this is all of the Racks wired and ready to go. 1 V-Rack, 1 Combo Rack and 2 standar Racks.
http://members.cox.net/eberlechristmas/4thOfJuly2007/HPIM0474.JPG

This is a few from the top.
http://members.cox.net/eberlechristmas/4thOfJuly2007/HPIM0475.JPG

This is a picture of the control panel wired and ready to go.
http://members.cox.net/eberlechristmas/4thOfJuly2007/HPIM0478.JPG

This is a picture of my manual Fan Rack.

http://members.cox.net/eberlechristmas/4thOfJuly2007/HPIM0476.JPG

Northern Lights
07-05-2007, 07:45 PM
Hi teberle, the motar racks look great!!! This brings back memories.

I use to put on public fireworks displays normally choreographed to music.

My license from the Ministry expired back in 2005.

We use to do things the hard way with securing motars in huge boxes filled with sand that had to be shoveled in one scoop at a time. My back is still hurting. :D :D

I hope your display went well.

Mark

teberle
07-05-2007, 10:57 PM
Thanks. The display went great especially the finally.

biffklg
07-06-2007, 08:34 PM
lets see the after effects on those tubes!

teberle
07-07-2007, 01:54 PM
They weren't bad. Some build up from powder residue but no damage. I am in the process of cleaning them with a little soap and water and getting them ready for storage.

there was more residue on the alligator clips and connectors but a little WD-40 cleaned them right up.

Some of the racks are from last year and I only use HDPE pipe (High Density PolyEthelyn) (sp) so the pipes can be re-used from some time with proper care/maintenance.

sigtaulightning
02-26-2008, 02:57 PM
What do you use to "set off" the charge? How does all of that work. By the way your hardware looks great I can only imagine that the show was even better.

ppohlman
02-27-2008, 11:00 AM
I would assume the he's using electric matches. At least that's what I used when shooting off firework shows.

teberle
03-01-2008, 11:24 AM
I buy Nichromium wire (heating element wire) about .026 guage. Cut 3" strips and tightly wrap that in a spiral pattern around each fuse. I then take a small piece of masking tape to secure the wire in place. The alligator clips are attached to each end and then i have a car battery hooked up to the panel. When the switch is flipped 12volts is sent to the wire which heats up red hot really quick, burns through the outer core of the fuse to the black powder.

This actually lights the fuses quicker than a standard match and its safe.

ppohlman
03-01-2008, 04:39 PM
That's a great way of doing it. I had never thought about using nichromium wire. That way there isn't a chance of a spark igniting the the electric fuse.

Josh
03-07-2008, 01:17 PM
do the wire properties matter alot? here are three i am looking at, but not sure which to get.

http://www.arborsci.com/detail.aspx?ID=1063

http://cgi.ebay.com/26-Ga-Genuine-Nichrome-Wire-100ft-coil_W0QQitemZ230226012751QQihZ013QQcategoryZ26213 QQrdZ1QQssPageNameZWD1VQQ_trksidZp1638.m118.l1247Q QcmdZViewItem

http://cgi.ebay.com/Model-Rocket-Igniter-Wire-30-36-AWG-Nichrome-C_W0QQitemZ330217449763QQihZ014QQcategoryZ2567QQss PageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

teberle
03-08-2008, 10:17 AM
Josh,

I bought wire from here: http://www.omega.com/ppt/pptsc.asp?ref=NI60

I used Ni60-10-50

Tony

ppohlman
03-10-2008, 03:22 PM
I used Ni60-10-50

So you used 30 AWG wire? Do you know what the differences are in the AWG size and how fast or efficient it is with igniting the fuse?

eschnell
03-10-2008, 05:36 PM
Can you re-use the Nichrome wire or does it burn out?

Josh
03-10-2008, 06:33 PM
i ordered the 26 guage, should be in tomorow or wednesday. I will let you all know how it works. I also have the quesiton about reusing it or not. IT does not list a voltage on the wire, so im not sure if the 12v will burn threw it or not.

ppohlman
03-10-2008, 06:52 PM
If the voltage is high enough, it should burn it out. It will be interesting to see what your results are Josh. You might be able to find a voltage that ignites the fuse quickly, but is able to reuse the wire. But then again, you're not using a ton of wire and it isn't that expensive.

Josh
03-10-2008, 07:03 PM
yeah, not too worried about it either way. Just trying to figure out a nice clean design for our racks... looking for a central ground plane so i only use one clip per tube hopefully.

teberle
03-10-2008, 11:09 PM
The 26 guage wire is still in tact with when using a 12volt battery but it is charged and would take some time to re-wrap around the fuse. I used 50 foot of wire over 2 years and it isn't very expensive.

I would be interested in how you will use the one ground plane. I found it was easier to wire to a central point and then connect small jumpers to the fuses. One thing you need to be careful of is the guage of wire used to short the nichromium wire. I used 16 guage speaker wire for this as anything less seemed to get hot.

Josh
03-11-2008, 12:18 AM
thanks for the tips Tony. I am also unsure how i will use the ground plane, and maybe p won't, but its a thought.

ppohlman
03-11-2008, 04:12 PM
Now, I've seen plans on hot to make a heating element for a vacuum forming maching using nichrom wire and using 110V AC to heat the coils.

What would happen if you used 110V AC to ignite these small pieces of nichrom wire?

Baumusu
03-11-2008, 05:56 PM
I also use 36 gauge Nichrome wire.

EDIT: Just bought 120' of this http://cgi.ebay.com/Model-Rocket-Igniter-Wire-30-36-AWG-Nichrome-C_W0QQitemZ230226012755QQihZ013QQcategoryZ2567QQcm dZViewItemQQ_trksidZp1742.m153.l1262

teberle
03-11-2008, 06:37 PM
Now, I've seen plans on hot to make a heating element for a vacuum forming maching using nichrom wire and using 110V AC to heat the coils.

What would happen if you used 110V AC to ignite these small pieces of nichrom wire?

My guess would be that it quickly burn through the wire and not ignite the fuse. More importantly 110V AC is alot more dangerous than 12V DC.

ppohlman
03-12-2008, 02:49 PM
Yes, I agree with you, it is ALOT more dangerous. I was just thinking of possibly using my Blinky Flashy equipment to do a little show choreographed to music (without the need of building a bunch of DC relays).

Would one of you guys be willing to try AC voltage out to see if it would ignite the fuse?

Josh
03-14-2008, 11:35 PM
got my wire in today, man that is some HOT stuff. hooked it up to a battery and BAM it was red hot.

Tony, If you dont mind, can you PM or email me at j.cook.102$gmaildotcom a list of your tube angles. I am in the process of designing/building my setup and want an idea of where to start. I have several pictures etc, but no angles. I have done small tube setups before, and just eyballed it to what i thought looked good, but would like a tried and true #. Any information is appreciated.
Thanks

Macrosill
03-20-2008, 06:47 PM
Please see the following thread! http://www.doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2254&highlight=pyrotechnics

ppohlman
03-20-2008, 08:44 PM
Sorry Brian.

Having shot off several large shows (as a pyrotechnics expert) and seeing the equipment and software used to choreograph the shows, I couldn't help but think about it. I understand your concern with planting ideas into young impressionable minds. I will try to refrain from talking about my other hobby here. Thanks for letting me know your stance on this issue.

ben
03-20-2008, 08:54 PM
Please see the following thread! http://www.doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2254&highlight=pyrotechnics

Not to start any more trouble but...... Are we aloud to talk about commercial stuff? I was hoping to get some input on some of my stuff that I was going to input into my show. Not making anything just what they thought of this fountain or saturn block etc.

www.pyrouniverse.com
www.pyroreview.com

both good sites!!

Ben

Macrosill
03-20-2008, 09:01 PM
No. The thread I linked to and posted in specifically states no pyrotechnic discussions. The reasons are listed there.

teberle
03-21-2008, 10:06 PM
got my wire in today, man that is some HOT stuff. hooked it up to a battery and BAM it was red hot.

Tony, If you dont mind, can you PM or email me at j.cook.102$gmaildotcom a list of your tube angles. I am in the process of designing/building my setup and want an idea of where to start. I have several pictures etc, but no angles. I have done small tube setups before, and just eyballed it to what i thought looked good, but would like a tried and true #. Any information is appreciated.
Thanks

Josh,

I will email you some links on what I used to build my racks with. It will also give you some informatio on the types of tubes to be used (no PVC!!!!!).

Tony

ben
03-22-2008, 09:58 AM
Josh,

I will email you some links on what I used to build my racks with. It will also give you some informatio on the types of tubes to be used (no PVC!!!!!).

Tony

Alright we can post about this. This is safety. NEVER use PVC. Fiberglass or HPDE (I always mess that up) are the 2 best to use or the single use cardboard ones. PVC will shatter and a gient piece of PVC does not feel good.

Ben

Jeff Millard
03-22-2008, 07:56 PM
Alright we can post about this....
Ben

Ben,
No you can't! You, along with everyone else have been told time and time again to drop the subject. You're beginning to test my patience!

The discussion about Pyrotechnics ends now. EVERY aspect of it regardless of what it is! Period.

Jeff

Wayne J
03-22-2008, 10:25 PM
Obivously, this must be directly pointed out.......

To quote our Administrator


This is not the place to discuss pyrotechnics of any sort. Here in NY "fireworks" are illegal unless possessed by a licensed pyrotechnics expert. The hardware we use and design here is not intended to control anything other than lights at this time. Any future discussions about the use/control/handling of pyrotechnics will be deleted and the poster will be subject to deletion.

teberle
03-25-2008, 08:22 AM
All,

I was the person who started posting about Mortar Racks last year. I did not realize that pyrotechnics were illegal in the the state of New York as they are perfectly legal where I live during July 3rd and 4th. I will no longer post anything that I do during this Holiday. Also just for the record our hardware can be used to syncronize a show.

If anybody wants any information on what and how i do this stuff please email me at eberletj at cox dot net.

Sorry,

Tony Eberle