Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: 12 volt pixel issue

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default 12 volt pixel issue

    I am hoping someone has seen this problem before. I bought some new strings of 12 volt WS2811 100 node pixels. 5 strings, so 500 pixels. My problem is when I hook them up to my F16V3 falcon controller, the first 8 pixels come on by them selves. When I run a sequence all the other lights(92) work as they should. All 5 strings do this. I have never seen this, hoping that someone on here has.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Newtown CT
    Posts
    5,078
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 12 volt pixel issue

    please post a picture of the port/string configuration page. Also put the f16 into test mode and tell us if you still see the issue.


    2021 New Tune-to sign. New 40x27 matrix at the house. Retiring the Strip based matrix. Updating some of the old window frames to the new house. Adding two new songs.
    2020 Full sized show reworked for the new location. Only adding (famous last words) 13 RBLs that I finally got converted to using pixels
    2019 - Just moved into a new home (yet another change of plans). Will be dim but not dark. Too much to do at the new place to leave time for a show. Dim show (3000 pixels) had regular visits most nights.
    https://www.youtube.com/user/MartinMueller2003

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 12 volt pixel issue

    I have put it in test mode, and the first 8 dont respond. The first 7 stay blue and the 8th one is green. i am posting pictures not in test mode and in test mode. I have another ws2811 50 pixel string hooked up and it works fine.20210619_193615.jpg20210619_193600.jpg20210619_193600.jpg20210619_193622.jpg20210619_193622.jpg20210619_193622.jpg20210619_193622.jpg20210619_193616.jpg20210619_193615.jpg20210619_193615.jpg

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Newtown CT
    Posts
    5,078
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 12 volt pixel issue

    if string 2 works then the config is ok. i would start removing one pixel at a time until you have a (shortened) string that works.


    2021 New Tune-to sign. New 40x27 matrix at the house. Retiring the Strip based matrix. Updating some of the old window frames to the new house. Adding two new songs.
    2020 Full sized show reworked for the new location. Only adding (famous last words) 13 RBLs that I finally got converted to using pixels
    2019 - Just moved into a new home (yet another change of plans). Will be dim but not dark. Too much to do at the new place to leave time for a show. Dim show (3000 pixels) had regular visits most nights.
    https://www.youtube.com/user/MartinMueller2003

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Sauk City, WI USA
    Posts
    1,885
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 12 volt pixel issue

    It is odd that all your strings have the same problem. Did you use the same pigtail on all the tests?

    Did you try attaching the strings to the end of the good string?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Newtown CT
    Posts
    5,078
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 12 volt pixel issue

    This statement "I have another ws2811 50 pixel string hooked up and it works fine" indicates the issue is with the pixel string that is not working. However, is this "other" string hooked up to the same port that is having an issue? Making such a statement about a string on a different port is not useful and can be misleading. If you say that you have a string that works fine on port X and when you move it to port Y it stops working properly, that is a big piece of data. Have you tried the non working string on a known working port? Have you tried a known working string on the port that is having issues? This is data that is needed to debug such an issue. That or start cutting up your string and if the issue ove up the string then you know you have a problem port and if the working pixels continue to work then you know you have bad pixels. I would swap strings between ports first.

    Martin


    2021 New Tune-to sign. New 40x27 matrix at the house. Retiring the Strip based matrix. Updating some of the old window frames to the new house. Adding two new songs.
    2020 Full sized show reworked for the new location. Only adding (famous last words) 13 RBLs that I finally got converted to using pixels
    2019 - Just moved into a new home (yet another change of plans). Will be dim but not dark. Too much to do at the new place to leave time for a show. Dim show (3000 pixels) had regular visits most nights.
    https://www.youtube.com/user/MartinMueller2003

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 12 volt pixel issue

    Thanks for all the replies, I took all your advice. I swapped ports, pigtails and tried all lights hooked together. I narrowed it down to the last 8 ports on the control board. After doing a reset and inputting all my configurations again, it solved the problem. I'm really not sure what caused it, but I'm glad it works now. Thank you again

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    3,896
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 12 volt pixel issue

    More than likely you had overlapping channels............

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •