PDA

View Full Version : Animated Snowman Project

dirknerkle
05-28-2012, 05:06 PM
For 2012 I thought I'd try something I've never tried before -- a physically animated display element instead of blinky-flashy only. I chose a snowman because it's the closest to my own shape, and therefore, I'm my own model for it.

The "spine" of the snowman is made from red cedar -- partly because it's easy to cut and withstands weather well but primarily because I had an 8' unfinished cedar plank down in DIGWDF and I'm going on the cheap... This is truly a seat-of-the-pants project. No design template, no measuring, just working out the interior details to get the basics working first. After the "guts" are working, I'll make the outer body shaped from chicken wire and covered with a few layers of cloth that have been dipped in DryLok cement sealing paint. When the shell is dry and hard, I'll spray snow flocking over it when the Christmas decorations come out again this fall.

The goal is a head that will turn from side-to-side, two arms that will move independently, eyes that move side-to-side, and a mouth that will be matched to audio for a total of 5 servos. I plan to use the snowman for announcements, lighting it with a small front floodlight. If I get really energetic I may articulate it to a song or two.

Internal electronics will be a MiniRenServoXB driving the servo motors, and being that only 5 channels are in use, I may use the remaining channels for additional lighting effects, we'll see how that goes.

Here's a brief video that incorporates some stills and a short first test of the servos to make sure they're strong enough to drive the mechanisms.

http://digwdf.com/dirknerkle/video/snowman_project.wmv

ctmal
05-28-2012, 06:07 PM
Sounds cool. What sort of movements are you going to have for the arms?