View Poll Results: What OS is Vixen running on?

Voters
153. You may not vote on this poll
  • Windows 95/98/Me

    6 3.92%
  • Windows 2000

    13 8.50%
  • Windows XP

    114 74.51%
  • Windows Vista

    18 11.76%
  • Windows Server 2003/2008

    2 1.31%
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 38

Thread: What OS are you running Vixen on?

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Plainview, Mn
    Posts
    1,073
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What OS are you running Vixen on?

    How come nobody is Running Window 3.1?
    HA, somebody else is putting up my lights this year.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    35
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What OS are you running Vixen on?

    Quote Originally Posted by bmcgeeny View Post
    How come nobody is Running Window 3.1?
    Technical answer: Because Vixen utilizes .NET, which is only for Win98 and up.

    Humorous answer: Because despite the fact Windows 3.x was a huge upgrade from Windows 2.x, it's what one might consider old and outdated in our modern times ;)

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Plainview, Mn
    Posts
    1,073
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What OS are you running Vixen on?

    Quote Originally Posted by tdx View Post
    Technical answer: Because Vixen utilizes .NET, which is only for Win98 and up.

    Humorous answer: Because despite the fact Windows 3.x was a huge upgrade from Windows 2.x, it's what one might consider old and outdated in our modern times ;)
    Yah, but I have it on an old computer and some days I just like to start it up and watch it try to run!
    HA, somebody else is putting up my lights this year.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,079
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What OS are you running Vixen on?

    What is the oldest PC someone has Vixen running on. I think I might be in contention with 11 years , 2 month old

    In my case, I have a Toshiba TECRA 8000 notebook (circa Dec 1997) running Win XP

    Pentium II-300 Mhz, with an upgrade to 128M of RAM. I expect many have more RAM in their Harddrive Cache than this machine has in toto.

    It is fine running Vixen (without previews), RENARD/GRINCH controllers, and is OK for limited DMX testing.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Eagan, Mn.
    Posts
    4,073
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What OS are you running Vixen on?

    Quote Originally Posted by bmcgeeny View Post
    Yah, but I have it on an old computer and some days I just like to start it up and watch it try to run!
    Me too. But mine crawls, not run. :-(

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What OS are you running Vixen on?

    I was thinking of putting it on my sons old computer that has ME as the Operating system, will that work. I currently have it on my Vista, but I dont want to put my Vista out in the garage quite yet. Also, I am having troubles with the actual animation of Vixen. I keep getting an error message concern my Com ports. I try a different, like com4 it still wont animate..any ideas how to fix that, so I can show my wife how cool it would be to animate our lights.
    -Carl;)

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    190
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What OS are you running Vixen on?

    So is vixen stable on windows 7? I currently am running Vista on my main computer,(does all of the sequencing setup etc) and xp on the box that will be actually running the show. I got a free copy of Windows 7 from the microsoft event yesterday and want to uprgrade my main computer but dont want to run into Vixen problem

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Pearland, Tx (sometimes) and anywhere on the globe the rest of the time
    Posts
    3,275
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What OS are you running Vixen on?

    Quote Originally Posted by kboyts View Post
    So is vixen stable on windows 7? I currently am running Vista on my main computer,(does all of the sequencing setup etc) and xp on the box that will be actually running the show. I got a free copy of Windows 7 from the microsoft event yesterday and want to uprgrade my main computer but dont want to run into Vixen problem

    I think daviddth has Vixen running under Windows 7....
    WLC Ventures is now [URL="http://radiant-holidays.com"]Radiant Holidays![/URL]

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Denmak, 4700 Nęstved
    Posts
    1,038
    Post Thanks / Like

    Talking Re: What OS are you running Vixen on?

    Quote Originally Posted by g2ktcf View Post
    I think daviddth has Vixen running under Windows 7....
    I have tryed vixen 2.0 in win 7 and it is working great :p
    [I]Christmas - Light[/I]

    [COLOR="Red"]2011:[/COLOR]
    [FONT="Courier New"][SIZE="2"]6 x Renard 24 DC (My own design)[/SIZE][/FONT]
    [FONT="Courier New"][SIZE="2"]2 x Renard 24 V3.3[/SIZE][/FONT]
    [FONT="Courier New"][SIZE="2"]2 x Renard 48 LSD[/SIZE][/FONT]
    [FONT="Courier New"][SIZE="2"]1 x Renard 64[/SIZE][/FONT]

    [COLOR="Red"]100 % led lights[/COLOR]
    Thanks to all there is helping me ;)
    [URL="http://www.pcjulelys.dk"]http://www.pcjulelys.dk[/URL]

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Plymouth, MN
    Posts
    9,174
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What OS are you running Vixen on?

    I use XP for most of my machines, but have run Vixen on Vista and Win7 without issues. I only use the Renard plugin however...

    http://digwdf.com/store/
    The DIGWDF Store is closed for all sales. Thanks to everyone who supported us through the years!
    User guides, documentation and other files are still free and available for downloading.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •