Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 42

Thread: FPP PB16 Controller

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Norwalk, Iowa
    Posts
    465
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default FPP PB16 Controller

    I am hoping someone can help shine some light on this and help me get it figured out.. I built a PB16 controller last year from scott hanson. After loading FPP on the pocket beagle and powering everything up, I could not figure out why no matter what I did, I only had a pixel output on output 1 out of the 16 outputs, I duplicated my settings across all outputs and still had the same result. I have to dig this controller out of its spot to re-commit to getting it going this year but I wanted to start a post and see if anyone else had happened to run into this before and had some items I could check/try to attempt to get it up and going?? Thanks so much!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    1,925
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: FPP PB16 Controller

    Can you fill in the blanks a bit on this....
    What version of PB16 did you build? What version of FPP did you load?
    I know Scott has updated the eeprom images for FPP 6, did you update the eeprom?
    Can you post your FPP channel output page.
    I built the PB16 v1.0e but did not use it this year as I had not added to the show this year.
    I use the PB16 mostly for testing at this point but had no issues with pixel outputs.
    Phil

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Norwalk, Iowa
    Posts
    465
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: FPP PB16 Controller

    Quote Originally Posted by DrNeutron View Post
    Can you fill in the blanks a bit on this....
    What version of PB16 did you build? What version of FPP did you load?
    I know Scott has updated the eeprom images for FPP 6, did you update the eeprom?
    Can you post your FPP channel output page.
    I built the PB16 v1.0e but did not use it this year as I had not added to the show this year.
    I use the PB16 mostly for testing at this point but had no issues with pixel outputs.
    Almost a month later.. go figure but here is details on this controller finally..
    PB16 is 1.0G
    It currently has version 4.6 of FPP as it has been that long now since I built this PB16. (I also have 2 others built but delayed getting them cased,ect. until I figured out what I was doing with this first one. )
    fpp PB16 page 1.jpg
    I can't recall since again its been a while since ive been logged into this controller.. is there a spot to check which EEPROM I have? I know I haven't done any kind of update to it since I put it on nearly 2 years ago already..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    1,925
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: FPP PB16 Controller

    I don't see anywhere to show what version eeprom you are using but since you didn't change it, it is probably the version 1 Scott uploaded.
    Doesn't matter anyways as you stated you are using FPP 4.6, the new EEPROM is only needed for Version 6 for licensing.
    When you are testing, are you doing it from Controller or from Xlights?
    Phil

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    437
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: FPP PB16 Controller

    Quote Originally Posted by DrNeutron View Post
    I don't see anywhere to show what version eeprom you are using but since you didn't change it, it is probably the version 1 Scott uploaded.
    Doesn't matter anyways as you stated you are using FPP 4.6, the new EEPROM is only needed for Version 6 for licensing.
    When you are testing, are you doing it from Controller or from Xlights?
    Can you explain what you mean by "the new EEPROM is only needed for Version 6 for licensing". I plan to update my FPP instances before next Christmas. Will I need to pay for a license if I update to FPP v6 or is it something else?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    1,925
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: FPP PB16 Controller

    No, The PB line is exempt from having to pay for licensing.
    The new eeprom is on the github page for each model.
    I haven't upgraded mine as of yet, I left it until off season.
    Phil

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Norwalk, Iowa
    Posts
    465
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: FPP PB16 Controller

    Quote Originally Posted by DrNeutron View Post
    No, The PB line is exempt from having to pay for licensing.
    The new eeprom is on the github page for each model.
    I haven't upgraded mine as of yet, I left it until off season.
    Did you have any additional input for my dilemma with my controller that I can't seem to get but 1 output to work on it??

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Norwalk, Iowa
    Posts
    465
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: FPP PB16 Controller

    I believe last that I was in xlights testing it. Sorry it's been a bit since I did the testing but I am pretty sure that is how I did it. Has from the controller worked for people? And I haven't been keeping up on the latest versions of FPP.. if I want to upgrade FPP on a pi, it sounds like that now requires a license to do so?

    Sent from my SM-A716U using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Sauk City, WI USA
    Posts
    2,604
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: FPP PB16 Controller

    Quote Originally Posted by jllracer55 View Post
    if I want to upgrade FPP on a pi, it sounds like that now requires a license to do so?
    FPP itself does not require a license. If you are using the multi output capabilities with a hat or cape then you have to do something but it depends on where you get your hat or cape whether you have to pay for it or not.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    437
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: FPP PB16 Controller

    Quote Originally Posted by DrNeutron View Post
    No, The PB line is exempt from having to pay for licensing.
    The new eeprom is on the github page for each model.
    I haven't upgraded mine as of yet, I left it until off season.
    Ok, thanks. So far, the PB boards are all I have. I do plan to use a pi as my master controller to run FPP and output audio next time around...

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeKrebs View Post
    FPP itself does not require a license. If you are using the multi output capabilities with a hat or cape then you have to do something but it depends on where you get your hat or cape whether you have to pay for it or not.
    Do you know if there is somewhere that details all of this info, such as how to know when a license is required, where/how to purchase a license, who from, etc.?

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •