Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to Pixels and Need Lots of Help

Post Thanks / Like

Default New to Pixels and Need Lots of Help

I am sorry for such a long post, but thank you for taking the time to help me out. I just got a quote to put lights around the roof line of my house and it came in at almost $4800.00 and I thought I could do it for a fraction of the cost. I am new to Pixels and am looking to put WS2811 square node pixels around the roof line of my house. I want to make them permanent and adjust them throughout the year with different colors and sequences, so I could add on to things and eventually build full light shows with sound. Currently I am looking to have about 1400 pixels around my roof line. I am thinking about using a Kulp 16A-B controller. I am looking at using 100 square node pixel strings with xconnect connectors. From my research, I should be injecting power after each 100 pixel string and boost the data every 200 pixels (every other string) - is this correct? If that is the case, what size of power supplies will I need? I would also like to use my RaspberryPi 3+ to run FPP and use XLights to create the light show/colors/sequences - is this possible? I am not very knowledgeable with wiring, so any help with the best way to wire this is greatly appreciated. Thanks again.

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: New to Pixels and Need Lots of Help

what do you expect the "boost the data" operation is supposed to do? Since each pixel regenerates the data signal, you only need to "boost the data" in the space between two pixels if that specific space is "too long". the definition of "too long" is highly dependent on the wire you are using between those two pixels. Notice that there is no mention of a need to "boost the data" every N pixels because each pixel IS boosting the data on its own.

2022 - Not sure yet. At least two new songs.