Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Vixen 2.1.4.0 with Windows 7 64 bit issue

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    On The Dark Side Of The Moon (Really, LI - NY)
    Posts
    463
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Vixen 2.1.4.0 with Windows 7 64 bit issue

    Hello All!

    It has been a while since I had signed into the forums as I have stopped using sound to lights for Christmas about 4 or 5 years ago. I continued to use Vixen for my Halloween shows for a signing pumpkin display but I had stopped that 3 years ago. This year I wanted to revitalize the singing pumpkin display and I wanted to use Vixen 2.1.4.0 on Windows 7 (64 bit) and I have run into an issue.

    Vixen starts up fine, but when I go to load the sequence up, nothing appears on screen. The song plays, but the preview display doesn't come up and nor do the channels.

    I have .Net Framework 4.7.2 on my system as I believe the .Net Framework was one of dependencies.

    It is possible that I am just not remembering what to do to set this up properly. I have searched the forum to see if running this version of Vixen was possible on 64 bit Windows 7, and read that it does run. I figured I might have had problems with configuring the COM port, but alas, I can't even get the sequence to show up on screen with the channels and preview display.

    Any help would be appreciated. Here are some more of my system stats:

    Intel i7 6700k CPU
    16 gig ram
    A few terrabytes HD space.
    Graphic Card: GTX 1080 TI

    Thank you,
    Geo

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    4,092
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Vixen 2.1.4.0 with Windows 7 64 bit issue

    Deleted
    Last edited by rstehle; 10-02-2022 at 12:43 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    4,092
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Vixen 2.1.4.0 with Windows 7 64 bit issue

    Wow, been a while. Your PC has WAY more than enough horsepower to run Vixen (or whatever you want ) As I recall, your sequence must be attached to a 'profile' to show up on your screen. You might check that out. A sequence can also be 'flattened' to a profile so that they travel together.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Warminster, PA
    Posts
    1,910
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Vixen 2.1.4.0 with Windows 7 64 bit issue

    With Vixen 2.1 you also need to install .Net 3.5. There is a workaround to get it to work with .net 4.x if you can't get 3.5 installed though.

    The workaround is to add
    <startup>
    <supportedRuntime version="4.0"/>
    </startup>
    to your Vixen.exe.config file. You have to add it within the <configuration> tags.
    Chris
    [URL="http://www.maloneylights.com"]http://www.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://halloween.maloneylights.com"]http://halloween.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://ctm.maloneylights.com"]http://ctm.maloneylights.com[/URL]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Warminster, PA
    Posts
    1,910
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Vixen 2.1.4.0 with Windows 7 64 bit issue

    If your computer is connected to the internet, I highly recommend upgrading to Windows 10 though, for security reasons. If you do, you'll still need to install .net 3.5.
    Chris
    [URL="http://www.maloneylights.com"]http://www.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://halloween.maloneylights.com"]http://halloween.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://ctm.maloneylights.com"]http://ctm.maloneylights.com[/URL]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    On The Dark Side Of The Moon (Really, LI - NY)
    Posts
    463
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Vixen 2.1.4.0 with Windows 7 64 bit issue

    Hello guys,

    I don't know what is going on with this forum, but certain pages are in text only format and others have the full graphics. I don't know what I am doing in text mode, so I am giving it a shot, but someone has to check this issue out as just plain navigating in text mode is a PAIN!

    Getting back to my issue this is what I found:

    .NET Framework 3.5 refuses to load on my system. .NET 4.x only loads. As such I have upgraded it now to 4.8.

    When I had saved my Vixen files, there were "flattened" with the profiles associated with the files. For some reason, Vixen is separating them. When I re-associate the profile with the file, I do get the preview back, however, the sequence is empty. How do I get it to show my sequences? Also, Why does Vixen under Windows 7 separate my sequences from the files? THat wasn't the case when I used Windows XP. Is this because it is refusing to work with .NET framework 4.8?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Warminster, PA
    Posts
    1,910
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Vixen 2.1.4.0 with Windows 7 64 bit issue

    You can either use profiles or keep everything in each sequence. Its really just a preference for that one.
    I would suggest using .net 3.5 if possible, only because that has been tested tried and true. I have, however, been running it in .net 4.8 for awhile now with no issues.
    What error are you getting for .net 3.5?
    If you post your sequence and profile(maybe in a zip file), I can take a look.
    Chris
    [URL="http://www.maloneylights.com"]http://www.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://halloween.maloneylights.com"]http://halloween.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://ctm.maloneylights.com"]http://ctm.maloneylights.com[/URL]

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    On The Dark Side Of The Moon (Really, LI - NY)
    Posts
    463
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Vixen 2.1.4.0 with Windows 7 64 bit issue

    Quote Originally Posted by ctmal View Post
    You can either use profiles or keep everything in each sequence. Its really just a preference for that one.
    I would suggest using .net 3.5 if possible, only because that has been tested tried and true. I have, however, been running it in .net 4.8 for awhile now with no issues.
    Well, earlier I managed to find some of my older sequences and they DO show up intact. I have to see if the Renard controller works, but this computer doesn't have a com port, so I have to get an adapter to check if the controller works. However, 2 sequences I don't have an older version of. I might have to set up my old computer and see if I can get the sequences from there to test them out. So now with this information, I feel that the .Net 4.8 isn't the issue.

    I am wondering if I had Vixen 2.5 on the newer sequences. I was reading that 2.5 sequences don't run on 2.1.X.X

    What error are you getting for .net 3.5?
    It is isn't a message. When I click on the installer, it looks like it is 'unpacking' something in a small window, but then it just goes away and nothing happens. No error message or anything. However, if I install any variant of .NET Framework 4.x, it will properly install.

    If you post your sequence and profile(maybe in a zip file), I can take a look.
    How do you do that? I know you can add pictures and videos, but I don't know how to post file attachments.

    Oh! BTW, I figured out what was wrong with this website running in text mode. For some reason, it just doesn't like Firefox. I have Chrome as well and it is working fine with that.

    Thanks,
    Geo

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Warminster, PA
    Posts
    1,910
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Vixen 2.1.4.0 with Windows 7 64 bit issue

    I wonder if .net 3.5 is already installed then. I think you would have gotten a popup if it wasn't.
    I know there's a converter for 2.5 back to 2.1 but I don't have a copy of it. Maybe someone who has it will chime in.
    Chris
    [URL="http://www.maloneylights.com"]http://www.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://halloween.maloneylights.com"]http://halloween.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://ctm.maloneylights.com"]http://ctm.maloneylights.com[/URL]

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Warminster, PA
    Posts
    1,910
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Vixen 2.1.4.0 with Windows 7 64 bit issue

    Oh, i found it. Here it is.

    Also, you can add files by clicking the Go Advanced button when you're replying.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Chris
    [URL="http://www.maloneylights.com"]http://www.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://halloween.maloneylights.com"]http://halloween.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://ctm.maloneylights.com"]http://ctm.maloneylights.com[/URL]

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •