Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Anyone Repair Falcon Controllers

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Clarksville, TN
    Posts
    384
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Anyone Repair Falcon Controllers

    Is there anyone out there who can fix an F16v3?

    I have a Falcon F16v3 v1.01 that failed a couple of years ago, but it was an early December failure, so not much time to work on it. I just bought a new one and tossed the old one in a drawer.

    The symptoms are:

    1. I have power in V2 and all the ports show good fuses, but there is no indicator on the PWR LED (under R70).
    2. The OLED does not display anything.
    3. The WiFi chip in the upper left does not have the traditional red LED lit.
    4. When I plug a network cable in, i do NOT see any link lights on either Ethernet port.
    5. I tried the EXT PWR connection (5DVC in).
    6. I have tried both 5VCD and 12VDC on the V2 connector with no change in symptoms (I did adjust input power jumpers appropriately).
    7. I tried "Factory Reset" with no change in symptoms. (LED1/LED2 don't even light).
    8. I verified the all the IC's are properly seated.

    Has anyone seen this?
    Tony
    Live since 2007
    Putting the Yule back into Yuletide


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Plymouth, MN
    Posts
    9,555
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Anyone Repair Falcon Controllers

    I don't know much about Falcon controllers, but here's how I fix ESP modules...


    http://digwdf.org/store/
    Even though the DIGWDF Store has been closed for almost five years, it's still awesome!
    User guides, documentation and other files are still free and available for downloading.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    367
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Anyone Repair Falcon Controllers

    Like any troubleshooting start with the basics. And depends on your skill level and equipment you have. Check the output of the regulators, since the OLED isn't active, it *could* be the primary 5V or 3.3V is dead. The FPGA core uses 1.0V. So measure across the capacitors (because thats an easy place to check) for voltage. I don't think there are schematics of the board around, but it should be pretty easy to find the regulators and see if anyone is alive.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Brownsville, TX
    Posts
    1,212
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Anyone Repair Falcon Controllers

    It sounds like there may be a fried power trace or a voltage regulator may have blown. Look at the bottom of the board to make sure there isn't a brown spot or a blown board trace is. This is just the first step. It sounds like you may have a blown chip for the Ethernet port.
    2010 Plan: Hoping to maybe break the 100 channel marker.
    2011 Plan: Finally hitting 116 channels!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX (near Katy)
    Posts
    1,094
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Anyone Repair Falcon Controllers

    Call David. I think his number is still up on his website. He used to repair his own boards.
    That's a feature not a bug.
    There's no charge for that.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Clarksville, TN
    Posts
    384
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Anyone Repair Falcon Controllers

    Quote Originally Posted by dirknerkle View Post
    I don't know much about Falcon controllers, but here's how I fix ESP modules...
    Trust me Dave, I have felt the same way about ESPs. But that is for another thread.

    -Tony
    Tony
    Live since 2007
    Putting the Yule back into Yuletide


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Clarksville, TN
    Posts
    384
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Anyone Repair Falcon Controllers

    The power traces all look clean.

    I took some readings at the voltage regulators (VR1-3) and couple of other spots.

    Looking at the readings (attached), I am guessing one of the VR's are not functioning properly.

    -Tony
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Tony
    Live since 2007
    Putting the Yule back into Yuletide


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    367
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Anyone Repair Falcon Controllers

    You should be seeing 3.3V and 1.0V on the board. Typically a post regulator after the 5V. My Falcon is installed outside in a box, else I'd take a closer look at it. The parts you note that have no voltage, are SOT23-3 parts and typical type of package for a voltage regulator. But unless you have to correct soldering iron and skill set, you can ruin the board removing and replacing the parts, if indeed thats what went out. The thing is, you typically do not see those just going bad on you, something could be shorted and making them shut down. When you do power up the board, another way to find bad parts is by thermally checking them. Carefully use your finger (unless you happen to thermal gun) and look for parts that are screaming I'm hot and burning up. Warm is OK. Hot that you say oh $%&^ when you touch them isn't. That would be my next step.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Sauk City, WI USA
    Posts
    2,509
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Anyone Repair Falcon Controllers

    Not that it matters if the VR is bad but did you move the power jumpers when you tested with 5V?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Clarksville, TN
    Posts
    384
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Anyone Repair Falcon Controllers

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeKrebs View Post
    Not that it matters if the VR is bad but did you move the power jumpers when you tested with 5V?
    I did move the jumpers.
    Tony
    Live since 2007
    Putting the Yule back into Yuletide


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •