Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: BBB16 Assembly questions

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Brownsville, TX
    Posts
    1,212
    Post Thanks / Like

    Question BBB16 Assembly questions

    Hello all. I am in the midst of putting together a BBB16. I have a couple of questions.

    1. Where do I install the DC/DC Converter 5V 8W (811-2196-5-ND)?

    2a. I can't seem to find a walkthrough on how to get the BBB up and running. 2b. Is it ready to go outside of the box or do you need to install drivers onto it? 2c. Can I install the necessary drivers using the included USB or do I need an additional power supply too?

    3. I can't seem to locate the 33 ohm resistor networks. They are on backorder in Digikey. I don't know when they will restock. I have looked for some on ebay an a couple of other sites, to no avail. Does anyone have any that are willing to sell me?

    4a. Are there any other EEPROMS that I can use as a substitute as the ones listed on Digikey doesn't look like they are going to get restocked anytime soon? 4b. When I look it up on ebay it shows an ATMEL chip.

    5. I don't believe that the BOM has a 7805 voltage regulator listed. Is this where the DC/DC converter installs or should I just buy a 7805?

    Sorry to have so many questions.

    Thank you guys!

    Mike
    2010 Plan: Hoping to maybe break the 100 channel marker.
    2011 Plan: Finally hitting 116 channels!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Palmdale, CA
    Posts
    85
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: BBB16 Assembly questions

    1 & 5, The DC to DC converter goes in the 7805 spot.
    4 I'm working on putting one together using a deferent EEprom I'll let you know.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Bloomingdale Ga
    Posts
    564
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: BBB16 Assembly questions

    It's completely FPP operated. All you need is the BBB version of FPP on a sd card (V6 is out now) installed on the BBB, Connect it to your network via a Ethernet cord and Fire it Up.
    I have plenty of 33 ohm resistor networks if you need some.
    Checking out some Eeproms now that i found on AliExpress, Let you know how it goes. Check back on Scotts GitHub page, He may have recently added alternative eeproms.

    Sorry but I'm assuming a lot of things I do not know. If you have never set up FPP on a BBB you will need to go to he Falcon forum for the Download
    Link and instructions. They have a link to a video and to the manual. Or pm me and I'll talk you through it.
    Last edited by rayhjr; 08-06-2022 at 09:12 PM. Reason: add info

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Brownsville, TX
    Posts
    1,212
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: BBB16 Assembly questions

    Quote Originally Posted by toy keeper View Post
    1 & 5, The DC to DC converter goes in the 7805 spot.
    Is there a specific orientation that the DC to DC converter goes in?
    2010 Plan: Hoping to maybe break the 100 channel marker.
    2011 Plan: Finally hitting 116 channels!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Bloomingdale Ga
    Posts
    564
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: BBB16 Assembly questions

    The best way to figure that out is to look at the data sheet for the one you bought. IF, you bought the one in the bom then here is the pin layout for it.
    Screenshot_20220807-082934_Office Mobile.jpg

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Palmdale, CA
    Posts
    85
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: BBB16 Assembly questions

    The Eprom I am using is a 24AA256 and seems to work. I ordered a while back, but there is some out there.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Bloomingdale Ga
    Posts
    564
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: BBB16 Assembly questions

    I am using these and they seem to work also. I have several if you need a few of them also.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: BBB16 Assembly questions

    I have these 24AA256 on my boards and it works.
    The only problem I have so far is data/ground making the lights flicker if I go beyond 5ft. If I add a f-amp then I can go 20ft no problem.
    Does anyone have this issue?
    I tried a 20ohm resistor in place of the 33ohm at 15fts and it stop flickering.
    Last edited by vietnamezeboi17; 08-07-2022 at 10:26 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Bloomingdale Ga
    Posts
    564
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: BBB16 Assembly questions

    Quote Originally Posted by vietnamezeboi17 View Post
    I have these 24AA256 on my boards and it works.
    The only problem I have so far is data/ground making the lights flicker if I go beyond 5ft. If I add a f-amp then I can go 20ft no problem.
    Does anyone have this issue?
    I tried a 20ohm resistor in place of the 33ohm at 15fts and it stop flickering.
    Just using display testing, I get no flickering at 25-30 feet 100% brightness with 33 ohm resistor network. Have not tried a sequence yet.
    Tried a sequence and still no Flicker.
    Last edited by rayhjr; 08-13-2022 at 07:34 PM. Reason: Update info

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •