Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Dc power question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Dc power question

    Is it possible to switch 120 volts ac to 12 volts dc yet raise the amperage from 15 amps to say 23 amps safely ???
    If so how would it be done ??? or would it be safer to work channel to channel for the higher amperage ??
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Newtown CT
    Posts
    5,874
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Dc power question

    what do you mean by "switch"?


    2022 - Not sure yet. At least two new songs.
    2021 New Tune-to sign. New 40x27 matrix at the house. Retiring the Strip based matrix. Updating some of the old window frames to the new house. Adding two new songs.
    2020 Full sized show reworked for the new location. Only adding (famous last words) 13 RBLs that I finally got converted to using pixels
    2019 - Just moved into a new home (yet another change of plans). Will be dim but not dark. Too much to do at the new place to leave time for a show. Dim show (3000 pixels) had regular visits most nights.
    https://www.youtube.com/user/MartinMueller2003

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    7,636
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Dc power question

    Here is the safest method -> X

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Warminster, PA
    Posts
    1,845
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Dc power question

    In addition to what Angus added, and to read into your question(possibly making a wrong assumption here), I think you might be confused about amperage. Drawing say, 15 amps from a dc power supply doesn't draw 15 amps from the AC line. To do the calculation, you can't just use the amps, you have to convert the dc amps to power, then calculate the ac amps from power draw.
    Chris
    [URL="http://www.maloneylights.com"]http://www.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://halloween.maloneylights.com"]http://halloween.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://ctm.maloneylights.com"]http://ctm.maloneylights.com[/URL]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Newtown CT
    Posts
    5,874
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Dc power question

    Quote Originally Posted by ctmal View Post
    In addition to what Angus added, and to read into your question(possibly making a wrong assumption here), I think you might be confused about amperage. Drawing say, 15 amps from a dc power supply doesn't draw 15 amps from the AC line. To do the calculation, you can't just use the amps, you have to convert the dc amps to power, then calculate the ac amps from power draw.
    That is assuming he meant converting AC to DC using a PSU. But if he wants to dim at the AC level and have the DC do something intelligent then that is a different question. Hence my request for a better explanation of what the OP is trying to accomplish. If the OP is trying to take variable AC to Variable DC then I agree with Angus --->X


    2022 - Not sure yet. At least two new songs.
    2021 New Tune-to sign. New 40x27 matrix at the house. Retiring the Strip based matrix. Updating some of the old window frames to the new house. Adding two new songs.
    2020 Full sized show reworked for the new location. Only adding (famous last words) 13 RBLs that I finally got converted to using pixels
    2019 - Just moved into a new home (yet another change of plans). Will be dim but not dark. Too much to do at the new place to leave time for a show. Dim show (3000 pixels) had regular visits most nights.
    https://www.youtube.com/user/MartinMueller2003

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Warminster, PA
    Posts
    1,845
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Dc power question

    Quote Originally Posted by MartinMueller2003 View Post
    That is assuming he meant converting AC to DC using a PSU. But if he wants to dim at the AC level and have the DC do something intelligent then that is a different question. Hence my request for a better explanation of what the OP is trying to accomplish. If the OP is trying to take variable AC to Variable DC then I agree with Angus --->X
    Good point.
    Chris
    [URL="http://www.maloneylights.com"]http://www.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://halloween.maloneylights.com"]http://halloween.maloneylights.com[/URL]
    [URL="http://ctm.maloneylights.com"]http://ctm.maloneylights.com[/URL]

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •