Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Labels for Mega Tree Strips

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2022
    Location
    Arlington Heights, Illinois
    Posts
    34
    Post Thanks / Like

    Question Labels for Mega Tree Strips

    I am getting ready to start putting the LED's onto my Mega Tree strips.
    Do you label the strips?
    If you do, what do you use that will withstand the weather?
    My strips are black.....
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX (near Katy)
    Posts
    1,068
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Labels for Mega Tree Strips

    Are they LED strips, or are they nodes put into strips? Dumb or smart? What is your controller? You may not need to number the strips, as the strips do not know what order they are in. Only the controller outputs need to be numbered so you know what order to place the strips.
    I use regular P-Touch tape to number the pigtails. I have some that have been in my show 10 years.
    That's a feature not a bug.
    There's no charge for that.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    648
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Labels for Mega Tree Strips

    I don't. I organize my strips into groups of 4, and I tell where they are based on position, e.g. group 8, strip 4. What I absolutely need are labels on the data lines, and those have to go on after I route the wires through the cable glands on the controller box. Each group of 4 goes on one channel. If I labelled the strips, I would lose the liberty to rearrange them. The important thing is only that my channels connect in order to the right groups (in my case, from right to left).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2022
    Location
    Arlington Heights, Illinois
    Posts
    34
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Labels for Mega Tree Strips

    Quote Originally Posted by Keith R View Post
    Are they LED strips, or are they nodes put into strips? Dumb or smart? What is your controller? You may not need to number the strips, as the strips do not know what order they are in. Only the controller outputs need to be numbered so you know what order to place the strips.
    I use regular P-Touch tape to number the pigtails. I have some that have been in my show 10 years.
    Nodes that I am putting onto strips.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX (near Katy)
    Posts
    1,068
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Labels for Mega Tree Strips

    So it depends on the controller you are planning on using. If you are using a Pi/PiHat configuration, you may only have two outputs and could color coordinate your pigtails. You probably have the choice to easily run 100 nodes on a single output without power injection and many more (up to 800 nodes) with some power injection. If you are using a multiple outlet controller and don't want to use a simple label maker, you could use these or the tape variety.
    That's a feature not a bug.
    There's no charge for that.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Lebanon, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,308
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Labels for Mega Tree Strips

    Labeling your outputs on your controller is a good thing.
    Your strips/strings/etc. may change from time to time (year to year?). If so, no need to mark them.
    IF you have specific inputs for specific outputs (like multiple connections between controller and a high density prop), then you may consider marking the inputs to make sure they get put back in the proper order the next time around.

    Some good examples:
    We have a PEX tree with 16 tubes (with strips in them.) Each year they are removed from the mount and put away in a large storage tube. Each new year, the PEX tubes are taken from their storage and put on the frame (tree) in whatever order. Much easier than trying to put PEX #1 in position #1, PEX #2 in position #2, etc. each time. Just grab output one and connect it to the first tube. Output 2 and connect it to the second tube, etc.

    We have a matrix that has 96 vertical strings with each output on the controller zig zagging up and down 3 times. It is imperative that we make sure the outputs on the controller match the inputs on the matrix. So each input is marked so it gets the matching output from the controller.

    Besides, it makes me feel good to sit there in the sunshine putting labels on the ends.
    Live, Laugh, Love.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Bloomingdale Ga
    Posts
    527
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Labels for Mega Tree Strips

    Quote Originally Posted by rreese View Post
    I am getting ready to start putting the LED's onto my Mega Tree strips.
    Do you label the strips?
    If you do, what do you use that will withstand the weather?
    My strips are black.....
    Thanks
    All my strips are the same so I do not label or mark them in any way.
    I do mark my controller outputs. I use some 3/8's white heat shrink (as a sleeve, don't shrink down) marked with Black or Red sharpie

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    648
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Labels for Mega Tree Strips

    Quote Originally Posted by rayhjr View Post
    All my strips are the same so I do not label or mark them in any way.
    I do mark my controller outputs. I use some 3/8's white heat shrink (as a sleeve, don't shrink down) marked with Black or Red sharpie
    How do you get the heat shrink to hold still if you don't shrink it?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    217
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Labels for Mega Tree Strips

    I label all of my outputs from the controller and as others my strips donít need to be in any order. I just use a label maker with waterproof tape and create flag type label that wraps around the pigtails and then adheres to itself.

    Only been one year but worked great so far!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Last edited by rsegreto; 05-31-2022 at 07:25 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Bloomingdale Ga
    Posts
    527
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Labels for Mega Tree Strips

    Quote Originally Posted by 1pet2_9 View Post
    How do you get the heat shrink to hold still if you don't shrink it?
    You don't.20220530_224425.jpg
    But I was lucky enough back in 2015 when I started this madness to have a boss who let me print some from a Brady label maker that they were getting rid of and/or changing brands or something. They have a crease in them and stay in place....... somewhat.
    20220530_224438.jpg

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •