Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Wired DMX to E1.31 Bridge?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Vancouver BC
    Posts
    76
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Wired DMX to E1.31 Bridge?

    I know there are lots of ways to convert E1.31 to wired DMX ( ESPixelStick firmware supports this) but I have a need to go from a legacy wired DMX output (no option to send E1.31 natively) to E1.31.
    I only need to support a single DMX universe.
    Has anyone seen such a device (various web searches haven`t turned up anything) or related code for DIY?

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Chicago - Southwest Suburbs
    Posts
    8,425
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Wired DMX to E1.31 Bridge?

    Not exactly DIY priced, but here's one option https://www.enttec.com/product/contr...dmx-interface/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Vancouver BC
    Posts
    76
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Wired DMX to E1.31 Bridge?

    Thanks for finding that..
    It is a bit pricey...
    Some of the DMX adapters have become very constrained due to supply chain issues...
    I have been looking for some of these:
    http://dmxking.com/usbdmx/ultradmxmicro
    Can`t find anywhere that has them in stock and the manufacturer doesn`t expect to make any more till 2022

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Newtown CT
    Posts
    5,467
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Wired DMX to E1.31 Bridge?

    Been searching. Here is the answer to your first part: DMX into an Arduino: https://sourceforge.net/p/dmxlibrary...i/DMX%20Slave/
    Still looking at Data to E1/31 out
    Last edited by MartinMueller2003; 10-24-2021 at 04:31 PM.


    2021 New Tune-to sign. New 40x27 matrix at the house. Retiring the Strip based matrix. Updating some of the old window frames to the new house. Adding two new songs.
    2020 Full sized show reworked for the new location. Only adding (famous last words) 13 RBLs that I finally got converted to using pixels
    2019 - Just moved into a new home (yet another change of plans). Will be dim but not dark. Too much to do at the new place to leave time for a show. Dim show (3000 pixels) had regular visits most nights.
    https://www.youtube.com/user/MartinMueller2003

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    UK S80 postcode
    Posts
    1,557
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Wired DMX to E1.31 Bridge?

    Hi, that is a bit of an obscure request. The problem is that DMX has a slow transmission speed compared to E1.31 or WS281x pixel data. Can you tell us a little more about what you are wanting to achieve and whilst you state ‘a single universe’ how many channels and where are the in the universe i.e. 20 channels 1 to 20 or all 512.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Newtown CT
    Posts
    5,467
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Wired DMX to E1.31 Bridge?

    And here is a lib that can be used to output E1.31 data

    https://github.com/tigoe/sACNSource


    2021 New Tune-to sign. New 40x27 matrix at the house. Retiring the Strip based matrix. Updating some of the old window frames to the new house. Adding two new songs.
    2020 Full sized show reworked for the new location. Only adding (famous last words) 13 RBLs that I finally got converted to using pixels
    2019 - Just moved into a new home (yet another change of plans). Will be dim but not dark. Too much to do at the new place to leave time for a show. Dim show (3000 pixels) had regular visits most nights.
    https://www.youtube.com/user/MartinMueller2003

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Vancouver BC
    Posts
    76
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Wired DMX to E1.31 Bridge?

    It is a bit of an obscure request. In this case a friend has some PC`s running various VSA (Visual Show Automation) sequences using wired DMX (VSA only supports wired DMX and various USB connected controllers). While he does have various wired DMX controllers (dimmers and servo controllers) he would like to make use of some E1.31 controllers that he also has.

    I know there is a channel limitation with a single DMX universe (he doesn`t need to control that many pixels)
    I know he could import the VSA sequences into xLights and use that (this suggestion has been made)

    Ideally he needs a box that listens to a wired DMX connection and resends it out via E1.31 (just the single universe)..
    It`s not a huge deal (so they are not really wanting to through $$ into it).
    I was just wondering (hoping) if such code already existed..

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Novi, MI
    Posts
    444
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Wired DMX to E1.31 Bridge?

    I was thinking about the original post. Why not just run another parallel DMX output from E131 to whatever downstream needs it. To minimize wired DMX runs, I used to have DMX bridges scattered throughout the display, all outputting the same universe.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •