Thread: Falling snow from live tree to ground

Post Thanks / Like

Default Falling snow from live tree to ground

Hi,

I'm new to this sport, and there is a lot of information on this forum. I want to start out simple this year and just have a falling snow effect from a large tree to the ground and I know this has been done a million times, but I'm having a tough time figuring out best way to do it. If someone could point me in the right direction I would appreciate it.

Thanks!

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Falling snow from live tree to ground

heres a palce to get started
    Ray is a familar to most folks here

check this out HERE
    all pix <70 univ)

Post Thanks / Like

Ray can make them as long as you want.... in most cases... Ive got some that are 120cm.
    just ask him... hes pretty nice.. very busy and VERY hard to get a hold of. but once you do.. hes pretty nice
    all pix <70 univ)

Post Thanks / Like

So by 'tree' do you mean some strings of pixels in a 'cone' shape? It's up you how many strings you use, plus how many pixels are in each string. In my case I only built half a tree since I only see one side. Pixels come in 50s normally, spaced at up to about 8cm. Depending on the controller you use you may want to split into groups of 170 (= 1 universe). In my case I have 10 strings of 34 pixels = 2 universes of 170 pixels. That's a relatively small tree compared to some on this forum:
    https://youtu.be/hqaQvYU4ilQ

As for the 'falling snow' effect, that's down to the software - it just treats the tree as a 'screen' and 'knows' where all the pixels are. I believe both Vixen and Xlights support this kind of effect.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by RichieNorthcott View Post