Thread: replace bulbs - dim

Post Thanks / Like

Default replace bulbs - dim

OK, so I'm new to this so I know this will be a wtf question for most. I have a couple of strands of chasing lights that my wife loves and I have kinda let them go over the years because I didnt know much about it all. Well, this year I am trying to figure it all out and get them back in shape (there were probably close to 50 bulbs out between the two strands). Well I started replacing bulbs and some of them when I replaced them were very dim so I used "different" bulbs but I dont know exactly what the difference was or how to tell the difference until I put them in and see it.

I assume its different voltage bulbs, but how do you know which is which by looking at the bulbs and also can you just tell by looking at a set or something?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: replace bulbs - dim

You would need to count the total bulbs, and the number of channels of chasing. 140 bulbs, and 4 channels is very common. That would mean that you have 35 bulbs per channel. You will want to replace your burned out bulbs with bulbs from a strand of the same count. Lowe's carries 35 count bulb strands (unless they are out due to end of season).

Post Thanks / Like

I don't think that there is any way to tell what the voltage of a bulb is by looking at it. I just looked at a bunch of them that I have collected over the years, and the only one that looks any different are the 12V, which have a much longer filament.

Common mini light voltages and the string counts that use them:
    2.5V - 50, 100, 150
    3.5V - 35, 70, 105
    6V - 20
    12V - 10 (tree toppers)

When I open a box of mini's, I always put the replacement bulbs that come with them into separate containers according to what the voltage is.
    Don

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by omzig View Post