Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Channel Order

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    289
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Channel Order

    Assuming K.C. Is going to work one this again someday and make updates, I have a suggestion.

    Make Channel Order Saves u8niversal to be picked from any sequence.
    Haveing to save it to a profile, then attach a profile to a sequence jsut to get a channel order is way over redundant.
    WOOT! Christmas!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    857
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Channel Order

    In the meantime, uf you open the .vix file with a text editor, you can very easily copy over channel orders from one sequence to another. Assuming you don't want to do the profile thing.
    1 channel, 0 dimmable. Powered by a man flicking a lightswitch to the beat.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    3,701
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Channel Order

    Quote Originally Posted by cruizer View Post
    Assuming K.C. Is going to work one this again someday and make updates, I have a suggestion.

    Make Channel Order Saves u8niversal to be picked from any sequence.
    Haveing to save it to a profile, then attach a profile to a sequence jsut to get a channel order is way over redundant.
    But if you start with a profile, you only have to do it once. If you have a lot of channels, it is a real timesaver, especially with the AP ..................

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Apple Valley, MN
    Posts
    3,752
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Channel Order

    Channel orders are universal. You could make a new sequence file with only one channel. Then attach your profile to the sequence and you’ll have all of your channels. If you want to embed those channels into your new sequence, just choose flatten into sequence. How easy is that!:grin:
    [I]A mediocre person tells. A good person explains. A superior person demonstrates. A great person inspires others to see for themselves.[/I]

    <a href="#" onclick="return(showhide(this));">Click here to show/hide my display details ...</a>
    <script language="javascript">function showhide(anc){ for(; ; ){ if(!anc.nextSibling) break; if(anc.nextSibling.nodeName == "DIV") break; anc = anc.nextSibling; }//<br />
    var Y='block', N='none', det=anc.nextSibling; //<br />
    if (!det) det=document.getElementById('details'); det.style.display=(det.style.display!=N)?N:Y; return false;}</script><div id="details" style="display:none;"><br /><img src="http://www.vixenlights.com/sig/sig_h.php/128/All.gif" border="0" alt="" /></div><a href="#" onclick="return(showhide(this));">Click here to show/hide DIYC Links ...</a>
    <script language="javascript">function showhide(anc){ for(; ; ){ if(!anc.nextSibling) break; if(anc.nextSibling.nodeName == "DIV") break; anc = anc.nextSibling; }//<br />
    var Y='block', N='none', det=anc.nextSibling; //<br />
    if (!det) det=document.getElementById('details'); det.style.display=(det.style.display!=N)?N:Y; return false;}</script><div id="details" style="display:none;"><br /><b>Chat link</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/addonchat.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/addonchat.php</a>
    <b>Christmas Wiki link</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/wiki/index.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/wiki/index.php</a>
    <b>File Library link</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/dynamics/index.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/dynamics/index.php</a>
    <b>Who's in chat?</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/chat/info.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/chat/info.php</a>
    </div>

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    289
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Channel Order

    Yeah, but I am talking about doing it without the profile thing. I see that as an extra step that is unnecessary.
    WOOT! Christmas!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Apple Valley, MN
    Posts
    3,752
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Channel Order

    Quote Originally Posted by cruizer View Post
    I see that as an extra step that is unnecessary.
    You don’t have to use a profile. If your display will always be the same, you don’t need a profile. Where this is handy is if you change your display each year (add channels, reorder the channels, ect.) you only change the profile and all of your sequences will follow that format. You won’t need to edit each sequence.

    Due to a bug, it’s not working that way right now, KC will get to it though; maybe not this year but soon after.
    [I]A mediocre person tells. A good person explains. A superior person demonstrates. A great person inspires others to see for themselves.[/I]

    <a href="#" onclick="return(showhide(this));">Click here to show/hide my display details ...</a>
    <script language="javascript">function showhide(anc){ for(; ; ){ if(!anc.nextSibling) break; if(anc.nextSibling.nodeName == "DIV") break; anc = anc.nextSibling; }//<br />
    var Y='block', N='none', det=anc.nextSibling; //<br />
    if (!det) det=document.getElementById('details'); det.style.display=(det.style.display!=N)?N:Y; return false;}</script><div id="details" style="display:none;"><br /><img src="http://www.vixenlights.com/sig/sig_h.php/128/All.gif" border="0" alt="" /></div><a href="#" onclick="return(showhide(this));">Click here to show/hide DIYC Links ...</a>
    <script language="javascript">function showhide(anc){ for(; ; ){ if(!anc.nextSibling) break; if(anc.nextSibling.nodeName == "DIV") break; anc = anc.nextSibling; }//<br />
    var Y='block', N='none', det=anc.nextSibling; //<br />
    if (!det) det=document.getElementById('details'); det.style.display=(det.style.display!=N)?N:Y; return false;}</script><div id="details" style="display:none;"><br /><b>Chat link</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/addonchat.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/addonchat.php</a>
    <b>Christmas Wiki link</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/wiki/index.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/wiki/index.php</a>
    <b>File Library link</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/dynamics/index.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/dynamics/index.php</a>
    <b>Who's in chat?</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/chat/info.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/chat/info.php</a>
    </div>

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    3,701
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Channel Order

    I guess I am also thinking about the AP. If you don't use a profile, can you build an AP for a sequence, and have it copy to others?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Apple Valley, MN
    Posts
    3,752
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Channel Order

    Under the profile tab, you can choose ‘Create profile from sequence’. You can use any sequence that is configured the way that you what and create a master profile from it and then attach it to any new sequences. You can also flatten a profile into to the sequence to make it permanently part of a sequence if you want.
    [I]A mediocre person tells. A good person explains. A superior person demonstrates. A great person inspires others to see for themselves.[/I]

    <a href="#" onclick="return(showhide(this));">Click here to show/hide my display details ...</a>
    <script language="javascript">function showhide(anc){ for(; ; ){ if(!anc.nextSibling) break; if(anc.nextSibling.nodeName == "DIV") break; anc = anc.nextSibling; }//<br />
    var Y='block', N='none', det=anc.nextSibling; //<br />
    if (!det) det=document.getElementById('details'); det.style.display=(det.style.display!=N)?N:Y; return false;}</script><div id="details" style="display:none;"><br /><img src="http://www.vixenlights.com/sig/sig_h.php/128/All.gif" border="0" alt="" /></div><a href="#" onclick="return(showhide(this));">Click here to show/hide DIYC Links ...</a>
    <script language="javascript">function showhide(anc){ for(; ; ){ if(!anc.nextSibling) break; if(anc.nextSibling.nodeName == "DIV") break; anc = anc.nextSibling; }//<br />
    var Y='block', N='none', det=anc.nextSibling; //<br />
    if (!det) det=document.getElementById('details'); det.style.display=(det.style.display!=N)?N:Y; return false;}</script><div id="details" style="display:none;"><br /><b>Chat link</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/addonchat.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/addonchat.php</a>
    <b>Christmas Wiki link</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/wiki/index.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/wiki/index.php</a>
    <b>File Library link</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/dynamics/index.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/dynamics/index.php</a>
    <b>Who's in chat?</b> - <a href="http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/chat/info.php" target="_blank">http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/chat/info.php</a>
    </div>

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Mooresville, NC
    Posts
    7,545
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Channel Order

    Quote Originally Posted by rstehle View Post
    I guess I am also thinking about the AP. If you don't use a profile, can you build an AP for a sequence, and have it copy to others?
    Yes, you can copy it with the 'copy data' feature.
    I do not use a profile either. If something changes, I just copy it to the others.
    James Family Christmas - 1600 channels of SS Renard channels
    Website - http://jamesfamilychristmas.com/ <<broken
    Facebook - James Family Christmas


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •