Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: PiCap and Home Automation

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default PiCap and Home Automation

    I am in the design stage for a simple house outline project that will run 365 days a year. I will space pixels 6" apart under the eves with the hope to get a nice subdued wall wash in warm white for most days. Plan to use a Pi3 & PiCap for 150 pixels split across the 2 channels for control. The question is how to have my VeraLite home automation hub power the pixels along with the rest of my house. My initial thought is to wire the 12v power supply that powers the pixels using a smart outlet and leave the Pi3 and PiCap powered up and running on separate power. Will this work? Any damage to the power supply or pixels? Is there a better method I haven't thought of? Thanks for your input.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    58
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: PiCap and Home Automation

    Smart outlets usually let you program a timer into them on your cell phone. You can put your Pi to sleep on that timer, and add a crontab @reboot sequence on your Pi to launch your show, and another crontab to do a nice shutdown. I've done entire Christmas seasons using that.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: PiCap and Home Automation

    Thanks, i will look into that approach.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    837
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: PiCap and Home Automation

    It should not cause any issues to power off the pixels and leave the Pi powered on.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: PiCap and Home Automation

    Thanks. the concern is cutting power to the power supply

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    58
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: PiCap and Home Automation

    JMHO, but if the Pi goes into a funk, it's good to reboot it every night and have its bootup sequence start afresh. If you're running a Pi4, though (not a Pi3), I am more adamant about it. Pi4's run a bit hot. They need the downtime.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •