Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: Correct shutdown order

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Kimberly, WI
    Posts
    312
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Correct shutdown order

    As far as running the show at Christmas Iím in the never power down camp. The pi, controllers and PSUís are up and running the whole time.

    Testing and trial runs, I pull the plugs.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    55
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Correct shutdown order

    Quote Originally Posted by Spankyty View Post
    Everytime the show ends I run a script to shut down my Beagle Bone, then the pi. Then later in the night I have a timer that shuts down the main power to everything.
    Is this a custom script or something already an option on the BB? Iíll be running a K8-PB and if itís safe to shut everything down then Iíd be on board.

    Thanks,
    -Russ


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Correct shutdown order

    All I have at the present is a k4-pb that has a 32gb mini sd card

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Correct shutdown order

    Long time before I'm there. All I have is a k4-pb with 32gb micro sd card. Now when I'm just learning, I power down card then shut off psu. I will probably go that route and leave it all on. Only doing roof line and two 7ft candy canes. Do you do audio as well?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Kimberly, WI
    Posts
    312
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Correct shutdown order

    I do audio. I use the 3.5 jack to my fm transmitter


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Hicksville, New York
    Posts
    226
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Correct shutdown order

    Quote Originally Posted by rsegreto View Post
    Is this a custom script or something already an option on the BB? I’ll be running a K8-PB and if it’s safe to shut everything down then I’d be on board.

    Thanks,
    -Russ


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    In FPP you can download pre written scripts. I downloaded the shutdown one and there was another that shuts down slaves. You'll find it. You'll have to read the description
    Crazy Light Addict.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    55
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Correct shutdown order

    Awesome thanks Spankyty!

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    55
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Correct shutdown order

    Actually one more thought, if I'm using the K8 FPP for my scheduler and I shutdown the BB I'll lose my show timing right? I'd have boot it back up again before showtime each day?

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Sauk City, WI USA
    Posts
    1,771
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Correct shutdown order

    Quote Originally Posted by chris710tucker View Post
    I move to the garage where I planned to put it and the psu and signal was just about non existent. Thanks for the info
    Two things. You can get extenders for your wifi to help cover your garage. But if you are thinking about using wifi for your show network (more than sync packets), you will want to invest in a dedicated show access point that is not "on your home network". Basically a different SSID and choose the best channel for your outside environment. That you could wire back to your main router and use that to communicate from inside to outside.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •