Thread: 3 Pin to 4 Pin

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Post Thanks / Like

Default 3 Pin to 4 Pin

I am new to Christmas Lighting, so forgive me if this is a dumb question, but here it goes. I have a pixlite 16 controller that uses 4 pin round connectors. I bought a line of 12V bullet pixels that showed up with round 3 pin plugs. Is it possible to change or solder a 4 pin connector on the lights? Or do I need to return them and go a different direction?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: 3 Pin to 4 Pin

most strings come with 3 pin connectors now. Maybe consider changing the connectors on the controller. I am not familiar with the pixlite.
    http://www.vixenlights.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Vixen3-Logo-435x165White-300x107.png

Post Thanks / Like

keep in mind there are a few different types of 3 pin connectors.
    http://www.vixenlights.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Vixen3-Logo-435x165White-300x107.png

Post Thanks / Like

I moved this thread from Renard to here because this seems like a more appropriate forum.
    Phil

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Audiophile View Post
    I am new to Christmas Lighting, so forgive me if this is a dumb question, but here it goes. I have a pixlite 16 controller that uses 4 pin round connectors. I bought a line of 12V bullet pixels that showed up with round 3 pin plugs. Is it possible to change or solder a 4 pin connector on the lights? Or do I need to return them and go a different direction?
    What chipset are the pixels you bought? WS2811, WS2812B, etc.

The product manual for PixLite specifies what protocols and chips it supports.

Post Thanks / Like