Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 3 Pin to 4 Pin

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default 3 Pin to 4 Pin

    I am new to Christmas Lighting, so forgive me if this is a dumb question, but here it goes. I have a pixlite 16 controller that uses 4 pin round connectors. I bought a line of 12V bullet pixels that showed up with round 3 pin plugs. Is it possible to change or solder a 4 pin connector on the lights? Or do I need to return them and go a different direction?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Mims, Fl
    Posts
    825
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 3 Pin to 4 Pin

    most strings come with 3 pin connectors now. Maybe consider changing the connectors on the controller. I am not familiar with the pixlite.
    http://www.vixenlights.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Vixen3-Logo-435x165White-300x107.png

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Mims, Fl
    Posts
    825
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 3 Pin to 4 Pin

    keep in mind there are a few different types of 3 pin connectors.
    http://www.vixenlights.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Vixen3-Logo-435x165White-300x107.png

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,442
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 3 Pin to 4 Pin

    I moved this thread from Renard to here because this seems like a more appropriate forum.
    Phil

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    47
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 3 Pin to 4 Pin

    Quote Originally Posted by Audiophile View Post
    I am new to Christmas Lighting, so forgive me if this is a dumb question, but here it goes. I have a pixlite 16 controller that uses 4 pin round connectors. I bought a line of 12V bullet pixels that showed up with round 3 pin plugs. Is it possible to change or solder a 4 pin connector on the lights? Or do I need to return them and go a different direction?
    What chipset are the pixels you bought? WS2811, WS2812B, etc.

    The product manual for PixLite specifies what protocols and chips it supports.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Sauk City, WI USA
    Posts
    1,721
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 3 Pin to 4 Pin

    4 pin pixel connectors and the controllers that support them are for "clocked" pixels like WS2801. Your 3 pin pixels are not "clocked" and most likely WS2811. If your pixels came with 3 pin already attached, go back to same place you bought them from and see if you can get a set of 3 pin pigtails. The connectors between various vendors are not compatible. You need the same pigtails as you have for your pixels. Then check the pixlite manual or look on the pcb for markings. Starting at 1, the PixLite Mk2 User Manual shows V+ /clock/data/ground. You will use only the V+ data and ground. Then you need to configure the controller to use the appropriate protocol. There is piece of software you download from the advatek website that will allow to configure the controller.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    362
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 3 Pin to 4 Pin

    I have Pixlite 16 sitting on my desk right now. It has eurostyle four-wire blocks on each output (just like Falcon controllers). To connect a string of 3-wire pixels, remove the 4-pin connections by unscrewing the set screws on top of the blocks, then wire V+ to input 1, data to input 3, and GND to input 4 according to the diagram on the board.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •