Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Planning and research for next year and looking at FPP Master and Remote setup

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Paola, KS
    Posts
    43
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Planning and research for next year and looking at FPP Master and Remote setup

    I am starting to plan for next year (Christmas 2021) and our show will be bigger (I am hoping). I am planning on splitting my display to run part on 2 RPi, one master and one remote, all the displays will be ran from a single sequence and audio. So does the sequence and audio file have to be on both the master and remote. So how does this all work? Can the remote run with a different sequence and audio file than the master at the same time?
    Thanks for any help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Metro Denver, CO
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Planning and research for next year and looking at FPP Master and Remote setup

    I did that for my display this year! Super easy to set up. I do not believe that the remote can run a different sequence. I had 2 arduino getting serial data from the master and a 3rd arduino getting serial data from the remote. All playing the same sequence. Good luck in your planning!
    2020: First automated display
    - Home built Arduino controllers, 80ch
    - RPI 4 running FPP
    - All "dumb" strands
    - 4 singing trees
    YouTube Playlist

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Chicago - Southwest Suburbs
    Posts
    8,271
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Planning and research for next year and looking at FPP Master and Remote setup

    The sequences on the master and slave don't have to be the same file, but they need to have the same name and duration. You can put only the channels that are relevant for each remote into those files.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Metro Denver, CO
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Planning and research for next year and looking at FPP Master and Remote setup

    Quote Originally Posted by jchuchla View Post
    The sequences on the master and slave don't have to be the same file, but they need to have the same name and duration. You can put only the channels that are relevant for each remote into those files.
    Awesome, that is really good to know! Thanks for the clarification.
    2020: First automated display
    - Home built Arduino controllers, 80ch
    - RPI 4 running FPP
    - All "dumb" strands
    - 4 singing trees
    YouTube Playlist

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Sauk City, WI USA
    Posts
    1,797
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Planning and research for next year and looking at FPP Master and Remote setup

    You don't need audio on the remote. You only need audio on the device that is going to play your audio.

    The remote would not be a remote if it was doing something entirely different than the master. But there is nothing wrong with two standalone if that is what you want.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Manhattan Kansas
    Posts
    325
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Planning and research for next year and looking at FPP Master and Remote setup

    You can also export a sparse sequence file from xlights to your remotes that only has the info that is need for that remote location.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Paola, KS
    Posts
    43
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Planning and research for next year and looking at FPP Master and Remote setup

    Okay jchuchla, you just confused me. How do you put only the channels that are relevant for each remote into those files? I use Vixen and there is not a lot of info out there on how to do stuff and most documents for Vixen are out dated or hard to understand. Thanks for any help.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Lebanon, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,026
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Planning and research for next year and looking at FPP Master and Remote setup

    tomas041857 - create your two different sequences (one for your main, one for your remote) They must be of the same length and will have the same name. (There is a point in naming that you may have something different to distinguish them, but I'll have to find that to pass it along.)

    When a master sends the sync message all it is sending is a "I am playing this selection and I am at this point in time". The remote accepts this, checks to make sure it has the selection (if not already playing it) and then goes to that point in the file. Even if the two files are completely different, with the same name, they will both play.

    You will hear about sequencers creating "sparse files" for each instance. Essentially the sequencer is creating two different files - each with only the data that is needed by each instance of FPP. Since they were created from the same instance within the sequencer, they match in name and length. An easy way to create both of your different files is to do it in the sequencer, at the same time. When the sparse files are created, you have your two different files.

    And yes, the explanation hides how easy it really is.
    Last edited by algerdes; 12-29-2020 at 09:56 AM.
    Live, Laugh, Love.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •