Thread: SSRs dimming affordable with vixen?

Post Thanks / Like

Question SSRs dimming affordable with vixen?

I am new to this hobby and wanted to ask for advice. I set up my first show this year using a basic arduino and vixen v3 setup. However the fact that I can't dim is jarring to me. It just comes off as a bit strobing. I wanted to know if I could use my ssr board with a different controller that has the ability to dim, and what types of controllers are out there that can dim? Is vixen 3 an adequate program for the job?

Merry Christmas

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: SSRs dimming affordable with vixen?

Vixen 3 is a great solution for dimming once you get the correct hardware. If you are using SSRs like the Sainsmart brand, they typically do not support dimming because f the type of SSR that they use. If you are willing to solder your own boards there are solutions out there to build SSRs that support dimming (that's what I did).

Also, the Renard line of AC controllers are designed to dim. I have never used the Renard branded boards so I can not testify how much configuration there is. But if You want to stick with Arduino there are solutions out there.

When I built my own SSRs in 2016, it cost me about $13 for each 8 channel AC dimming board and about $12 for each 16 channel DC dimming board. I still use them.
    Kevin

Post Thanks / Like

Vixen is a full featured modern sequencer. It's a great choice for the job even with a very simple setup like yours. In this case, the software has nothing to do with the limitations you're seeing. That's all related to your hardware.