Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Vixen 3.7 to fpp 4.x

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    60
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Vixen 3.7 to fpp 4.x

    I'm having an issue with exporting from vixen to fpp. When I run a basic test in fpp my pixels and a/c's are bright and look amazing. When I run a test sequence that I exported from vixen my pixels are dim around my windows and some don't fire at all. I am running es pixelsticks with 5v pixels, power injection every 50 pixels. My megatree is working great! I'm running a sandevice e682 for the tree with each strand of lights using their own channel. I have double checked my dimming curve in vixen as well as on the sticks themselves. What am I missing? This is my first year running pixels so im very much neck deep in the learning curve here.
    Also.. which export should I be using? Is it falcon player sequence? Or falcon player sequence 2.6+?

    Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,189
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Vixen 3.7 to fpp 4.x

    are you using 3.7u2?
    Cheers!
    Steve

    Learn 1 new thing everyday.

    "AURBO" -- Aurora Borealis

    My weather today



    Chat link | Christmas Wiki link

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    60
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Vixen 3.7 to fpp 4.x

    Quote Originally Posted by Aurbo99 View Post
    are you using 3.7u2?
    Its 3.7 build #99220201128_082153.jpg

    Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Wenatchee, WA
    Posts
    514
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Vixen 3.7 to fpp 4.x

    Can you post pictures of your dimming curves?
    If you are dimming both in Vixen and on the controllers you’d be dimming twice. Usually once is all that’s needed.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Gaithersburg, MD
    Posts
    241
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Vixen 3.7 to fpp 4.x

    Quote Originally Posted by Aurbo99 View Post
    are you using 3.7u2?
    It is the latest Dev Build #999

    Screen Shot 2020-11-29 at 9.42.10 AM.png
    2016 Migrating to Vixen 3.2
    Vixen 2.5x
    120 Channels
    2015 5 RenardSS24 @ 20,600 lights
    2014 5 RenardSS24 @ 18,600 lights
    2013 3 RenardSS24 @ 9,900 lights
    2012 2 RenardSS24 @ 6,000 lights
    2011 began researching
    [url]www.KentlandsChristmas.com[/url]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Gaithersburg, MD
    Posts
    241
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Vixen 3.7 to fpp 4.x

    Quote Originally Posted by StickyWicket View Post
    Can you post pictures of your dimming curves?
    If you are dimming both in Vixen and on the controllers you’d be dimming twice. Usually once is all that’s needed.
    So, reminder that if I play the songs via Vixen and my PC - it all looks correct. When I export them and play the songs vis my Falcon Player, it fails like the video. So I do not believe it is the sequencing and it occurs on all the songs and there is the timing issue.
    2016 Migrating to Vixen 3.2
    Vixen 2.5x
    120 Channels
    2015 5 RenardSS24 @ 20,600 lights
    2014 5 RenardSS24 @ 18,600 lights
    2013 3 RenardSS24 @ 9,900 lights
    2012 2 RenardSS24 @ 6,000 lights
    2011 began researching
    [url]www.KentlandsChristmas.com[/url]

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Lizella, GA
    Posts
    1,578
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Vixen 3.7 to fpp 4.x

    I got my show running today and also had timing issues w/ my sequences, (running mostly Renards w/ ESP adapters) they all seemed to be delayed by about a second or less. It was most noticeable on my singing faces the mouth movements where way behind. Went through all the wireless troubleshooting, re-exporting the sequences and Standard FPP and FPP2.6+. I ended up adding a 1000 ms delay in FPP (-1000) to the "Media/Sequence offset" in the FPP Advanced Settings and that got everything timed about right (may still tweak it as the week goes on).

    I have never had to do this before, I have been running off ESPs for the last 4 years and everything has always been in sync. But I too have upgraded to Vixen 3.7u2 and FPP 4.4 so not sure where the issue is being introduced, I may have time next weekend and I am going to load up one of my sequences I exported last year in Vixen 3.6 to see if there is a difference.
    Last edited by Ruppro; 11-29-2020 at 11:42 PM.
    Matt

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Maryville, Illinois
    Posts
    1,930
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Vixen 3.7 to fpp 4.x

    I had to set an offset of -20ms for mine. I am using a SB Play 3 for audio and have always needed a bit of offset in FPP to get things to sync. The offset was is a little closer this year than in the past.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Lizella, GA
    Posts
    1,578
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Vixen 3.7 to fpp 4.x

    Quote Originally Posted by jeffu231 View Post
    I had to set an offset of -20ms for mine. I am using a SB Play 3 for audio and have always needed a bit of offset in FPP to get things to sync. The offset was is a little closer this year than in the past.
    This is the 1st year I have had to use the offset, I have actually cut mind back to -500ms and it appears to be spot on now. I use the cheap $7.00 transmitters directly connected to the Pi via USB so it shows as a sound device in FPP and again this is the 1st year (in 5) that I have had to worry w/ the delay
    Matt

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •