Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: Boscoyo Frankie Blank Pixel Problem

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Location
    Newark, Ohio
    Posts
    63
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Boscoyo Frankie Blank Pixel Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by angus40 View Post
    900 Channels !
    So, there are 300 physical LED's and there are 3 channels per LED, for a total of 900 channels, is that correct? If there are 510 channels per universe, then two universes would cover the 900 channels, right? Is that the correct understanding? I believe so...

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6,629
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Boscoyo Frankie Blank Pixel Problem

    yes 2 Universes is good . It's how you configure your pixels / universe that matters.
    Your controller configuration should match what you have configured in Xlights .
    Is the prop wired as 1 continuous string ?

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Location
    Newark, Ohio
    Posts
    63
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Boscoyo Frankie Blank Pixel Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by angus40 View Post
    yes 2 Universes is good . It's how you configure your pixels / universe that matters.
    Your controller configuration should match what you have configured in Xlights .
    Is the prop wired as 1 continuous string ?
    Ok, cool. The prop is wired as one string. It's six strings of WS2811 5V lights...power is connected where two strings are joined in three locations. Data is one contiguous string. When I use any of the WLED effects for testing, things work as expected.

    I can imagine it might be a difference between the WLED config and xLights. What do I check between the two to see?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6,629
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Boscoyo Frankie Blank Pixel Problem

    If I remember correctly Wled is pre-configured for 8 universes Unicast .
    Users need to select Multicast if using multicast from a sequencer .

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Location
    Newark, Ohio
    Posts
    63
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Boscoyo Frankie Blank Pixel Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by angus40 View Post
    If I remember correctly Wled is pre-configured for 8 universes Unicast .
    Users need to select Multicast if using multicast from a sequencer .
    I configured xLights for Unicast. I'll be happy to try and match xLights to WLED. I've already taken my display down for the night. I'll pull it all out again tomorrow and try to configure xLights to match WLED. So, if I understand correctly, I'll configure xLights for eight universes using Unicast and then Multicast if that doesn't work. Does that sound like a plan?

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6,629
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Boscoyo Frankie Blank Pixel Problem

    I would check your Wled settings and match them to Xlights .
    Multicast is suggested by most I believe.


    My best advice is to use EspixelStick firmware for e1.31 & Wled for year round wifi control .
    I'm sure some find success with certain versions of Wled for e1.31 usage but the more recent ones have had some issues and it is advisable to check the Wled Wiki and Wled Known issues .

    I toyed with Wled both in .bin format and source code via self compiling (preferred) .
    Last edited by angus40; 10-16-2020 at 11:29 PM.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Location
    Newark, Ohio
    Posts
    63
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Boscoyo Frankie Blank Pixel Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by angus40 View Post
    My best advice is to use EspixelStick firmware for e1.31 & Wled for year round wifi control .
    I'm sure some find success with certain versions of Wled for e1.31 usage but the more recent ones have had some issues and it is advisable to check the Wled Wiki.

    I toyed with Wled both in .bin format and source code via self compiling (preferred) .
    Ok, I can try different firmware. I'm not sure if that is the problem; WLED doesn't display a problem with this LED... Every WLED effect works appropriately. But, I can give another flash a shot...thanks for your input.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX (near Katy)
    Posts
    1,005
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Boscoyo Frankie Blank Pixel Problem

    Try going back to an earlier version of the firmware for the WLED. There seems to be a bug in the current version.
    That's a feature not a bug.
    There's no charge for that.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6,629
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Boscoyo Frankie Blank Pixel Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Keith R View Post
    Try going back to an earlier version of the firmware for the WLED. There seems to be a bug in the current version.
    Keith . I Have to laugh

    That's a feature not a bug.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Location
    Newark, Ohio
    Posts
    63
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Boscoyo Frankie Blank Pixel Problem

    Well, running 0.10.2 exhibits the LED problem and the previous release, 0.10.0, does not. So, problem solved!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •