Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Flickering Pixels (i.e. bad blinky-flashy)

Post Thanks / Like

Default Flickering Pixels (i.e. bad blinky-flashy)

Hey everyone,

I've been using Renard SS24s for my lights for a few years and this year finally decided to make the leap to pixels. I purchased a couple pixel strings, boards and parts for experimenting earlier this year and had no issues, but after assembling a few of these newer boards, I am experiencing random flickering of pixels. A couple pixels at a time will flicker every couple seconds. It is not the same pixels and doesn't do it in a predictable pattern. It almost seems like they're getting some kind of 'noise' through the data line.

I purchased 3000 pixels (60 sets of 50) and tested them immediately upon receipt. Only half of one set was unresponsive, and I was able to repair it. I don't have any reason to think that there is an issue with the pixels themselves.

I also purchased 24 ESP8266 ESP-01 units. I ended up receiving a mix of ESP-01 units and ESP-01S units (more on that later).

I purchased 24 ESP Pixel Pops Tiny boards from ukewarrior. I have no reason to think those have anything to do with the issue I'm having.

Finally, for electronics, I followed the parameters of the Pixel Stick/Pixel Pops page on the DIYC Wiki, but I may have taken some liberties to try to cut costs a bit. I built a couple units back in February and am having no issues with those ones, so I'm guessing one of these parts is where the issue is. I will detail my purchases here:

DIYC Part (from Pixel Pops Wiki) Sept 2020 Ordered Part (Mouser #) Sept 2020 Notes/Mouser Desc *Updated* Jan 2020 Ordered Part *Updated* Jan 2020 Part Mouser Desc
    One ESP8266-01, this is not so much a part, but a complete subassembly. From Amazon See above From Amazon (Different) ---
    D1 - One diode. This must be: 1N4148 --- Omitted for Pixel Pop Tiny --- ---