Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: I need a show router...

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    1,390
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: I need a show router...

    Quote Originally Posted by MartinMueller2003 View Post
    The DD-WRT software allows significant configuration flexibility which has proven useful when tuning a show to work over WiFi.
    I had enough trouble jus setting up network lol


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    222
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: I need a show router...

    You can run a edgerouter erx and a outdoor unifi ac for your show. Pretty cheap.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Plant city, Florida
    Posts
    91
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: I need a show router...

    Look at post 30
    https://r.tapatalk.com/shareLink/top...ink_source=app

    Ddwrt wasn't a good choice at that time, it may have gotten better. The edge router works flawlessly since then almost 2 years ago.

    Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Sauk City, WI USA
    Posts
    1,284
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: I need a show router...

    Here is Jon's wiki entry on wireless and the nano specifically
    https://www.diychristmas.org/wiki/in..._ACN_over_WiFi

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    52
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: I need a show router...

    Quote Originally Posted by gump2388 View Post
    You can run a edgerouter erx and a outdoor unifi ac for your show. Pretty cheap.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    So if I have a linksys AC1750 wireless router for my home network and a wanted to add a separate show network. I can hardwire the edgerouter erx to my linksys home router, put the edgerouter a different subnet and connect the unifi AC to the edgerouter for wifi capabilities. Does this sound correct?

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Lizella, GA
    Posts
    1,526
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: I need a show router...

    Quote Originally Posted by cjrobin27 View Post
    So if I have a linksys AC1750 wireless router for my home network and a wanted to add a separate show network. I can hardwire the edgerouter erx to my linksys home router, put the edgerouter a different subnet and connect the unifi AC to the edgerouter for wifi capabilities. Does this sound correct?
    Yes that is correct, I have my show network setup the same way, but I am just using a cheap old linksys router I got from the Goodwill store for like $5. Connect the "Internet" port to my home network. The show router is not really doing much, baxically just providing a segmented network and maybe DHCP if you want, it does not need to be very powerfull.
    Matt

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    222
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: I need a show router...

    Quote Originally Posted by cjrobin27 View Post
    So if I have a linksys AC1750 wireless router for my home network and a wanted to add a separate show network. I can hardwire the edgerouter erx to my linksys home router, put the edgerouter a different subnet and connect the unifi AC to the edgerouter for wifi capabilities. Does this sound correct?
    If you already have a router you can plug in the unifi to the ac1750 and mount him outside to get you goo wifi signal outside.


    Theres 10,000 ways to do it. In the end its the same idea.

    Im using the edgerouter erx for my house and have three unifi ac pros thru out my house. And one ac mesh for my outside patio area. This year ill add another ac mesh in my front for the show.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Plymouth, MN
    Posts
    9,266
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: I need a show router...

    A setup that seems to work extremely well (and used by sporadic, the creator of the ESPixelStick and the ESPixelStick firmware) is an Edge-X router with a Nanostation Loco-M2 access point. Both are Ubiquiti products and you can buy the pair for about $100.

    One good reason to use the same setup that sporadic uses is that you're assured to get predictable performance -- likely the same performance the originator gets, allowing for obvious differences in your location. I went this way and haven't been disappointed in any way whatsoever. And I've had upwards of 65 ESP's out in the show at any one time.

    http://digwdf.com/store/
    Even though the DIGWDF Store has been closed for more than a year, it's still awesome!
    User guides, documentation and other files are still free and available for downloading.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Lebanon, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    2,863
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: I need a show router...

    Quote Originally Posted by dirknerkle View Post
    A setup that seems to work extremely well (and used by sporadic, the creator of the ESPixelStick and the ESPixelStick firmware) is an Edge-X router with a Nanostation Loco-M2 access point. Both are Ubiquiti products and you can buy the pair for about $100.

    One good reason to use the same setup that sporadic uses is that you're assured to get predictable performance -- likely the same performance the originator gets, allowing for obvious differences in your location. I went this way and haven't been disappointed in any way whatsoever. And I've had upwards of 65 ESP's out in the show at any one time.
    I want a like button.
    Live, Laugh, Love.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    52
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: I need a show router...

    Can you have a network switch between the home router and show router or do they need to be connected directly?

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •