Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 65

Thread: encode to esp32

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Posts
    36
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default encode to esp32

    hello everyone, it's me again .... ahahaha ... I guess I'll be a little long.

    It is much greater than my knowledge but I would like to try it anyway.
    I got the first 5 ESP WROOM 32 at 30 pins,
    I have already done a first connection test ("ESP-NOW" 1 master and 4 slave)
    by copying the codes from the link:
    HTML Code:
    https://www.fernandok.com/2018/03/esp32-com-protocolo-esp-now.html
    and everything works as per instructions.

    I have a Tp-link Archer D5 AC1200 router / modem in the cellar.
    I think the first step would be to get the modem to communicate with the ESP32s and then set up Vixen for data transmission.
    Said so it seems easy, not for me; I have to go step by step to be able to understand everything.

    By copying the codes from the link:
    HTML Code:
    https://techtutorialsx.com/2017/04/24/esp32-connecting-to-a-wifi-network/
    adding this command as well "Serial.print(WiFi.localIP());", I see that the ESP32 takes the data from the router.

    to get the VIXEN data read, I assume, I will have to put it in the part "CONTROLLERS" --> Add: Streaming ACN (E1.31); multicast or unicast I'll see later

    I did not say the most important thing, what I would like to do.

    I'm not very good at explaining and I took the liberty of doing a little sketch, I hope you understand it.
    I will have to set 4 groups (later they will be more).
    - first with n8 5050 RGBW led strip controlled by relays through MPC23017
    - second n9 light bulb controlled by relays
    - third n7 light bulb controlled by relays
    - fourth n5 WS2811 (of 100 leds - total 500 leds)
    sketch.jpg

    currently the first three groups operate with a mega2560
    for next year the fourth group would also work with a second mega2560
    but if you could apply the above, it would be better ... ahahaha

    Can you give me some address to be able to do in the simplest way?
    I am not a programmer, I have done several searches on the web but I would need two hands not one ... ahahaha


    thank you so much
    Graziano

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Posts
    36
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: encode to esp32

    I did some tests with the individual LEDs, which I will then go to to comdarare the relays connected to the light bulb.
    With this part of the code, the ESP-32 connects to the TP-Link by turning on the leds of the assigned pins
    Code:
    #include "WiFi.h"
     
    const char* ssid = "MY-SSID";
    const char* password =  "MY-PSW";
    
    #define N_CANALI 7
    
    int ch;
    int stato;
    int chVal[N_CANALI+2] = {0};
    int pins[] = {15, 2, 4, 16, 17};
    
    void setup()
    {
      WiFi.begin(ssid, password);
     
      while (WiFi.status() != WL_CONNECTED) {
        delay(500);
        Serial.println("Connecting to WiFi..");
      }
     
      Serial.println("Connected to the WiFi network");
      Serial.print(WiFi.localIP());
      for (ch=0; ch<N_CANALI; ch++)
      {
        pinMode(pins[ch], OUTPUT);
        digitalWrite(pins[ch], HIGH); //HIGH - LOW
        }
    
      Serial.begin(115200);
    }
    if what I composed it's good, now I should find the part of the "void loop ()" that can be read from the router and transmitted to the ESP.
    Any advice to get started? or some other code I can take parts?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Posts
    36
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: encode to esp32

    I tried to search left and right on the web but unfortunately I have difficulty understanding how to start the cycle.
    No comment but by chance did I write something wrong? If so, I wonder how I could recover the wrong.
    Thanks again
    Good evening.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6,978
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: encode to esp32

    Hi

    Are you trying to use the Esp32 and some Ws28** pixels with Vixen ?

    I have posted code in the Arduino forum that should/will do this as a esp32 e1.31 device

    Or you could simply load WLED firmware and it will do what you want with RGBW and WS 28** pixels .
    Last edited by angus40; 12-13-2020 at 06:27 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Newtown CT
    Posts
    4,919
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: encode to esp32

    espixelstick v4 unify branch supports esp32 and has dual output ports.


    2020 Full sized show reworked for the new location. Only adding (famous last words) 13 RBLs that I finally got converted to using pixels
    2019 - Just moved into a new home (yet another change of plans). Will be dim but not dark. Too much to do at the new place to leave time for a show. Dim show (3000 pixels) had regular visits most nights.
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyX...ttrsZNARkUce0Q

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6,978
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: encode to esp32

    Quote Originally Posted by MartinMueller2003 View Post
    espixelstick v4 unify branch supports esp32 and has dual output ports.
    Hi Martin . Has the Unify been updated recently ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Newtown CT
    Posts
    4,919
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: encode to esp32

    Quote Originally Posted by angus40 View Post
    Hi Martin . Has the Unify been updated recently ?
    yes. we are just about done.


    2020 Full sized show reworked for the new location. Only adding (famous last words) 13 RBLs that I finally got converted to using pixels
    2019 - Just moved into a new home (yet another change of plans). Will be dim but not dark. Too much to do at the new place to leave time for a show. Dim show (3000 pixels) had regular visits most nights.
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyX...ttrsZNARkUce0Q

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Posts
    36
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: encode to esp32

    Quote Originally Posted by angus40 View Post
    Hi

    Are you trying to use the Esp32 and some Ws28** pixels with Vixen ?

    I have posted code in the Arduino forum that should/will do this as a esp32 e1.31 device

    Or you could simply load WLED firmware and it will do what you want with RGBW and WS 28** pixels .



    Hello Angus,
    yes, i would like to use ESP32 with some ws2811 pixels and some relays with Vixen.
    I tried to search for your code but I was not successful. What was called your Thread?

    thanks

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Posts
    36
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: encode to esp32

    Quote Originally Posted by MartinMueller2003 View Post
    espixelstick v4 unify branch supports esp32 and has dual output ports.
    Hello Martin,
    in the web I found several releases, do you have a specific page where I could see the code?


    thank you so much

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Newtown CT
    Posts
    4,919
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: encode to esp32



    2020 Full sized show reworked for the new location. Only adding (famous last words) 13 RBLs that I finally got converted to using pixels
    2019 - Just moved into a new home (yet another change of plans). Will be dim but not dark. Too much to do at the new place to leave time for a show. Dim show (3000 pixels) had regular visits most nights.
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyX...ttrsZNARkUce0Q

Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •