Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New member with a few questions

Post Thanks / Like

Default New member with a few questions

Hello all,

Thank you for having me in your forum! I have been building up a collection of AC Christmas lights for a few years now. This last Christmas, I decided that I have probably reached the limit of what I want to do with static AC lights, and I am ready to jump into the world of the light show! So that is how I landed here and thanks again for having me.

I have actually spent about a month now, watching a ton of videos and browsing forums to figure out how to get my start in this hobby. I have installed xlights, and I have already sequenced five songs for Halloween (I figure Halloween will me my test run before the Christmas show). I have also already put together two hardware enclosures. One of them has a 360W/12V power supply and a raspberry pi2 with a Falcon pi cap. The other houses a pixel2AC board, which I set up because I don't want to ditch my collection of AC lights just yet, and I figured that sequencing those AC lights would be a good way to get started without the huge investment of replacing my entire collection with pixels all at once. I have two 50-node strands of 12V pixels that I got from Amazon, and I have four WS2811 spotlights on order from Ray Wu's Aliexpress store. So, all of this is to say that I think I am well on my way to making this thing work. But of course, I do have a few questions. For expediency, I wanted to just throw all of the questions I have right now out there, but I will definitely be browsing the forum for individual questions as well, as time goes on.

So, here are a few of the questions that I have, and thanks to anyway who is willing to chime in with your expertise: