Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Network question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    97
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Network question

    When setting up a network for your light show, do you guys use a separate physical network or just run it on it's own VLAN?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Lizella, GA
    Posts
    1,522
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Network question

    Both Ways. I personally use a separate physical network, but others have created VLANS. I like the separate network because even w/ a VLAN all the traffic is still on the same physical equipment (as your home network?) so if it is getting congested, it will still get congested.
    Matt

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Clarksville, TN
    Posts
    304
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Network question

    Quote Originally Posted by Glycerine View Post
    When setting up a network for your light show, do you guys use a separate physical network or just run it on it's own VLAN?
    From a routing/switching perspective, there little difference. Me personally, my light network is behind an old DD-WRT router, with its own firewall. I chose not to do a separate physical network so that I could remotely access the show terminal running Vixen. In addition to remote access, I also do not have to worry about any household broadcast domains being flooded with either show traffic or the kids "YouTube" traffic.

    -Tony
    Tony
    Live since 2007
    Putting the Yule back into Yuletide


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    97
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Network question

    Ok, thanks guys, I'll give it some thought. I'm mostly thinking about whether or not I want to purchase additional (networking) equipment.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    97
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Network question

    Another question on this subject: I am seeing that the Raspberry Pi can be configured as a wireless access point. Has anyone done this? Could it be the same pi that is running FPP? Was thinking that if I use many individual wireless pixel controllers I could just do this to create my network, instead of needing to invest in another wireless router/access point.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Chicago - Southwest Suburbs
    Posts
    7,961
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Network question

    I do the VLAN thing. It allows for more software flexibility so you don't need to go around moving cables to reconfigure things.

    I don't recommend using the Pi as an AP for the purpose of sending data to wireless controllers. While it can function as an AP, it's not a particularly good one. You're better served with a proper AP with a proper antenna. But the AP mode can be used for things like backdoor access to the pi in case of primary network failure.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Plymouth, MN
    Posts
    9,259
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Network question

    The PI can do a lot of neat things but if you're planning to use FPP on it to run your show, don't add unnecessary overhead by making the PI also be an access point. You'll likely run into some stuttering in your light show if you overtax a PI.

    http://digwdf.com/store/
    Even though the DIGWDF Store has been closed for more than a year, it's still awesome!
    User guides, documentation and other files are still free and available for downloading.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    97
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Network question

    Understood. Thanks.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    97
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Network question

    And yet another question. When using a raspberry pi running FPP: I would set the ethernet IP to be something on my "show" network, but set the wifi (wlan) IP to be on my home network, so that I can still access it from a computer for config purposes, correct?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Newtown CT
    Posts
    4,199
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Network question

    Quote Originally Posted by Glycerine View Post
    And yet another question. When using a raspberry pi running FPP: I would set the ethernet IP to be something on my "show" network, but set the wifi (wlan) IP to be on my home network, so that I can still access it from a computer for config purposes, correct?
    It depends. Are you intentionally setting up two independent networks? Do you want the FPP to be the primary path between the two networks? If so then yes. If you also want to access the controllers on that other network them you will need to configure the FPP to enable forwarding between interfaces.


    2020 Full sized show reworked for the new location. Only adding (famous last words) 13 RBLs that I finally got converted to using pixels
    2019 - Just moved into a new home (yet another change of plans). Will be dim but not dark. Too much to do at the new place to leave time for a show. Dim show (3000 pixels) had regular visits most nights.
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyX...ttrsZNARkUce0Q

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •