Thread: Changing laptop...x lights question :)

Post Thanks / Like

Default Changing laptop...x lights question :)

Have laptop with everything on.
    Need to get from one to a newer laptop.
    I can save sequences onto USB, when load to other laptop, says cannot find icicle lights ( plus all other lights )
    None of my set up screen, layout screen, sequencer screen is on the new laptop.
    Ahhhhhh help

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Changing laptop...x lights question :)

Quote Originally Posted by UkchristmasLights View Post
    Have laptop with everything on.
    Need to get from one to a newer laptop.
    I can save sequences onto USB, when load to other laptop, says cannot find icicle lights ( plus all other lights )
    None of my set up screen, layout screen, sequencer screen is on the new laptop.
    Ahhhhhh help
    I am no expert but I was able to move my layout & sequences between computers so I could work on them wherever I was at and them able to move them back to my show laptop.
    All I did was made sure my show laptop was setup exactly like my sequence pc I would work on the sequences on. (not necessary but when it was not the same then I would have to change my directory folder layout that points to sequences, audio, ect. so it was easier just to have my folder layout labeled the same). But I believe what you need is these 3 files xlights_rgbeffects.xml, xlights_networks.xml, xlights_keybindings.xml from my sequence computer (desktop) and copy to the show laptop but I also had to copy the sequences over to the show as well. I don't think it puts the background picture of your house back on there but it will do your network settings, and your lights layout
    Last edited by Byhova; 01-03-2020 at 03:56 PM. Reason: added more text

Post Thanks / Like

Will take ages to re do my set up part

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by UkchristmasLights View Post
    Will take ages to re do my set up part