Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Add RDS to EDM Transmitter.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Morganton,North Carolina
    Posts
    1,682
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Add RDS to EDM Transmitter.

    I have a EDM transmitter that works great and I have no intentions of getting rid of . When I purchased it,I really didn't care that it didn't have RDS capabilities. But I have gotten so many people coming to the door this year wanting to know what the name of a song that was playing was,that I'm thinking that I may look into ways to add RDS.

    Any suggestions on how to add RDS to the EDM? I have seen a video on using a PI,but I'm not sure that would work.

    I really don't want to start looking for another FM transmitter that has RDS. Thanks
    (1)Falcon PI Player (Running the show)
    (1)Falcon F16V3
    (1)Renard SS16
    (1)Renard SS24
    (1)EDM-LCD-CS-EP
    (20)P10 Panels



    WIKI
    Become A Supporting Member

    Falcon Christmas
    Renard Controllers


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Kansas City Missouri
    Posts
    2,308
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Add RDS to EDM Transmitter.

    Quote Originally Posted by Kev7274 View Post
    I have a EDM transmitter that works great and I have no intentions of getting rid of . When I purchased it,I really didn't care that it didn't have RDS capabilities. But I have gotten so many people coming to the door this year wanting to know what the name of a song that was playing was,that I'm thinking that I may look into ways to add RDS.

    Any suggestions on how to add RDS to the EDM? I have seen a video on using a PI,but I'm not sure that would work.

    I really don't want to start looking for another FM transmitter that has RDS. Thanks
    I have a P10 panel so when a sequence plays I put the name of the song on the screen.

    Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Morganton,North Carolina
    Posts
    1,682
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Add RDS to EDM Transmitter.

    Quote Originally Posted by pmiller View Post
    I have a P10 panel so when a sequence plays I put the name of the song on the screen.

    Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk
    Yeah,I thought of that,but I have other things on the P10 and I would have to redo all that.
    (1)Falcon PI Player (Running the show)
    (1)Falcon F16V3
    (1)Renard SS16
    (1)Renard SS24
    (1)EDM-LCD-CS-EP
    (20)P10 Panels



    WIKI
    Become A Supporting Member

    Falcon Christmas
    Renard Controllers


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Kansas City Missouri
    Posts
    2,308
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Add RDS to EDM Transmitter.

    Quote Originally Posted by Kev7274 View Post
    Yeah,I thought of that,but I have other things on the P10 and I would have to redo all that.
    You could add a short sequence between songs to display next song name.

    Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk
    Last edited by pmiller; 12-29-2019 at 01:22 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Morganton,North Carolina
    Posts
    1,682
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Add RDS to EDM Transmitter.

    Quote Originally Posted by pmiller View Post
    You could add a short sequence between songs to display next song name.

    Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk
    That is true. I may have to do that.
    (1)Falcon PI Player (Running the show)
    (1)Falcon F16V3
    (1)Renard SS16
    (1)Renard SS24
    (1)EDM-LCD-CS-EP
    (20)P10 Panels



    WIKI
    Become A Supporting Member

    Falcon Christmas
    Renard Controllers


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Kansas City Missouri
    Posts
    2,308
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Add RDS to EDM Transmitter.

    I display the song name and singer at the beginning of each sequence.

    Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Close to Hillsboro, OR
    Posts
    480
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Add RDS to EDM Transmitter.

    I am currently using a smaller matrix (2x2) that works as both a Tune To and song/artist display. I alternate every 30 seconds of each song with " Listen to the lights - Tune To xx.x FM" and "Believe by Josh Groban". However, as I posted in another thread, I was told my Tune To matrix is not visible by everyone that drives by or parks (I live on a corner lot). I am also looking at adding RDS but I don't want to spend $100+ to get a transmitter with RDS built-in. So, I am looking at alternatives.

    I also started thinking of using the matrix to add something like this: "Next song is 'Believe' by Josh Groban" for about 10 seconds. Might be much easier and won't cost me a dime.
    Last edited by Stormyblade; 12-29-2019 at 02:33 PM. Reason: Added more response

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •