Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: 3 or more Renard plugins causing choppy results

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    7,656
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default 3 or more Renard plugins causing choppy results

    I was intending to run 4 Renard plugins. Channels 1-48, 49-176, 177-304 and 305-368. I was noticing choppy flashing and fades and Vixen lock ups so the troubleshooting started. After pulling my hair out for over 12 hours and redoing everything in Vixen I have narrowed my issue down to 3 or more Renard plugins. I have tried this across 2 different computers and reworking all my connections, cables, board configurations and com port setups. If I use 2 Renard plugins with up to 304 channels everything runs smooth. The F8 button is a little laggy but the lights flash properly. If I run 304 channels with 3 plugins or more then the F8 button does not work and Vixen locks up.

    My only solution I can think of is to keep my plugins down to 2. This would cause me to have to put 256 channels on one plugin and the remained on another. I would have to connect 2-Ren24s inline with a Ren64, something I have not had to do to date.

    Is anyone else experiencing anything like this?

    I get the same results with Vixen 2.4.1, 2.5.0 and 2.9.0 across 2 different computers. The pcs were a 2.4ghz XP Pro with 768 ram and a 2.1ghz XP Home with 2gb ram.
    Thanks,
    Brian, your friendly site Admin.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    3,701
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 3 or more Renard plugins causing choppy results

    Brian, I was having a similar problem. When I would use 3 renard plugins, Vixen would often start freezing up while I was sequencing. I spent a lot of time working with KC on it over several days, and he finally sent me a new renard DLL file that seems to have fixed it. I may loose one blink or flash now and again, but for the most part it works fine.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    7,656
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 3 or more Renard plugins causing choppy results

    Any chance you can send the dll over here?
    Thanks,
    Brian, your friendly site Admin.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Spencer Iowa
    Posts
    1,236
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 3 or more Renard plugins causing choppy results

    Brian do you have "keep port open" checked.
    I tried unchecking this due to the 2.5 hour freeze issue.

    When unchecked, crap more accurately describes it than choppy.
    Running 450 channels on 4 serial ports.

    Joel
    Lets get serious, I have over 10,000 channels on my back, just where do you want to start counting.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    7,656
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 3 or more Renard plugins causing choppy results

    I unchecked "Hold port open". I got a dll from rstehle and am going to play with that. I spoke to KC today and he has some stuff he is going to send me tonight to play with as well. In the mean time I was able to get my hands on an older instal, pre 2.0.5.1 release and it seems to be running fine. I spent all day working on things and finally the show is running at about 90%. I hope this stops the emails and late night knocks at the door asking when the lights are going to be on. I had no idea the impact my display has on the community.
    Thanks,
    Brian, your friendly site Admin.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    824
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 3 or more Renard plugins causing choppy results

    Brian / KC - Please send me the files as well - I have 392 channels spread out over 4 ports, and I've been having issues as well - I go live on the 5th at 6:00, so anything you have - I'll try right away!!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Camp Hill Pa.
    Posts
    326
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 3 or more Renard plugins causing choppy results

    I had issues using 3 com ports. Tried using just 2 but went over the 143 channels per com port and ran just fine with the exception on the ren 64 i have 2 ssrs that lag .05-.10 behind but i just moved the channels ahead to compensate the lag and now everything is fine. 2 sets of green lights half out but im the only one that notices the 2 out of 600+ total sets.im running 232 and using a ren 64 and 11 ren 24s and been running all week and was testing for a full week prior with no issues using the 2 com ports for that many channels. I do have to restart the laptop once each day but amazingly its been like a vacation around here since i turned on.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    474
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: 3 or more Renard plugins causing choppy results

    Have you tried minimizing vixen while playing back. I have an old 333MHz that I use to play my show (Write them on my laptop) and since it is so slow I have freezing problem. When minimized the graphics don't update so it plays without any hitches. I know I could upgrade the machine but why? It's just sending serial data.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •