Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: REN32 troubleshooting

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Midlothian, VA
    Posts
    206
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default REN32 troubleshooting

    I have something very strange going on with my REN32. Channels seem to be a bit mixed up. See below:

    Channel 01 REN32 output controls channel 1 on SSR 1
    Channel 02 REN32 output controls channel 3 on SSR 1
    Channel 03 REN32 output controls channel 2 on SSR 1
    Channel 04 REN32 output controls channel 4 on SSR 1
    Channel 05 REN32 output controls channel 2 on SSR 2
    Channel 06 REN32 output controls channel 1 on SSR 2
    Channel 07 REN32 output controls channel 3 on SSR 2
    Channel 08 does nothing
    Channel 09 REN32 output controls channel 4 on SSR 1
    Channel 10 REN32 output controls channel 2 on SSR 2
    Channel 11 REN32 output controls channel 4 on SSR 2
    Channel 12 REN32 output controls channel 3 on SSR 2
    Channel 13 working
    Channel 14 working
    Channel 15 working
    Channel 16 working
    Channel 17 working
    Channel 18 working
    Channel 19 working
    Channel 20 working
    Channel 21 working
    Channel 22 working
    Channel 23 working
    Channel 24 working
    Channel 25 working
    Channel 26 working
    Channel 27 working
    Channel 28 working
    Channel 29 does nothing
    Channel 30 controls lights from channel 32
    Channel 31 controls lights from channel 30
    Channel 32 controls lights from channel 31

    I have tried different cables and I have used a different universe on my E1.31 bridge. Does anyone have any idea what may be causing this channel confusion?

    Thanks,

    Jon

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Sauk City, WI USA
    Posts
    1,250
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: REN32 troubleshooting

    Did you make the cables between the controller and SSR? It looks like crossover of some kind. The rest makes no sense (you can't physically control an SSR from the wrong port) unless...

    You didn't mention how you were testing. Did you mess up the patching? Looks like a messed up patch configuration.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Midlothian, VA
    Posts
    206
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: REN32 troubleshooting

    Thanks for the reply. Sorry I did not give all the information I could have. I am old school and I am using Vixen 2.1 for programming. The cables were made by me and tested to be wired correctly. I also swapped them for store bought for testing with the same results.

    UPDATE: Today I tested the REN32 straight from my pc to the board (channels 1 - 32) using a USB to RS323 to 485 converter, eliminating the E1.31 from the picture for this board. The board worked as expected. All channels worked perfectly. I then updated my display setup profile to feed channels 1-217 via E1.31 Universe 1, Universe 2 disabled (formerly the REN32), Universe 3 and 4 enabled.

    I then setup the Renard Dimmer (modified) plugin to feed channels 217 - 249 (the 32 channels not working via the E1.31 formerly Universe 2)

    Not at all an ideal setup, but it appears to work! I just wish I knew what might be driving my REN32 nuts from the E1.31 Bridge. I have used all this equipment and wires in years past without issue. The wire feeding the REN32 via the Renard plugin is the same wire used when feeding the signal from the E1.31, so wiring does not appear to be the issue.

    Any insight or words of wisdom would be appreciated.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Sauk City, WI USA
    Posts
    1,250
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: REN32 troubleshooting

    Which bridge are you using and how do you have it configured?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Midlothian, VA
    Posts
    206
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: REN32 troubleshooting

    Below is an image of my DIYLEDExpress E1.31 Bridge setup. In addition, I have included shots of my Vixen 2.1 E1.31 plugin setup and Reneard plugin setup. Again this is very messy, but it works. Ideally the E1.31 Bridge should deliver data to all Universes rather than the E1.31/Renard plugin hybrid:

    E1.31 Bridge:


    E1.31 plugin setup in Vixen 2.1:


    Renard plugin setup in Vixen 2.1:

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Sauk City, WI USA
    Posts
    1,250
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: REN32 troubleshooting

    You say it is working now? So you are using serial for that controller instead of the bridge?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Midlothian, VA
    Posts
    206
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: REN32 troubleshooting

    Yes to both questions. It is now working during testing, and I am using serial for that 32 channel controller. Not the ideal setup, but it works 100%. I will do a bit more troubleshooting this week, but with a Thanksgiving day go-live date, I am almost out of time.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •