Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Neighbors want in on the action

Post Thanks / Like

Default Neighbors want in on the action

Hi,

Somewhat newbie here. I ran a show last year with an F16V3 controller, roughly 4000 pixels on different props and house outline, and a whole lot of wire. Used XLights for sequencing. A few issues here and there, but got it running pretty well for my first year.

Well, now the neighbors want to be part of the action. I have a differential expansion board and a couple differential receivers I plan to use for the neighbors to my immediate right and left. But I have neighbors across the street that also want to be part of the show.

So, the question here is, how to be able to connect them to the show (say with 500-800 pixels)? Would it make sense to use the differential expansion board to send the data, run cat 5 to some sort of wireless bridge transmitter at the street, then run cat5 from the bridge receiver at the other side of the street and run cat5 to a differential receiver at their location or is there a better alternative? If I'm on the right track here, what would you suggest to use to transmit the data across the street? Their house is roughly 1000 ft. away.

So the crux of the question...How is it best to connect wirelessly and be able to transmit enough data to run pixels? I welcome your comments and suggestions on hardware and protocol.

Thanks!

Mark

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Neighbors want in on the action

You’ll find many people who run the show wirelessly. FPP/raspberry Pis

Post Thanks / Like

If you get a WIFI signal from your house on the other side of the street, I'd definitely put a Raspberry Pi or BBB running in remote mode over there. No pixel data would go across the wireless so speed is less critical.