Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: Data wiring configuration

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Hastings, New Zealand
    Posts
    45
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Data wiring configuration

    Ok. This may help clarify. I have drawn up my layout based on the info above. Am I on the right track?
    By the way. I found 2 extra rolls in my workshop, so now the mega tree is 8 rolls, not 6. BONUS!!
    mega tree.png

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Hudson MA
    Posts
    3,906
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Data wiring configuration

    Make sure that at the top of the tree you are using data plus V- as you go from strip to strip. You cant count on the inter-strip ground at the bottom of the tree to provide the data reference path. It is too far away. I also noticed that at the bottom of the tree you do not have a dedicated signal ground between strips. This will be ok if you are keeping the power injection wires between the strips short (less than a few feet). If you are actually doing a run back to the PSU at the bottom of each strip then you will need a V- wire running in parallel with the data wire between the strips.
    Last edited by MartinMueller2003; 11-11-2019 at 09:17 AM.


    2019 - Just moved into a new home (yet another change of plans). Will be dim but not dark. Too much to do at the new place to leave time for a show.
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyX...ttrsZNARkUce0Q

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Manhattan Kansas
    Posts
    259
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Data wiring configuration

    In your xLights set up you have 8 strings but the way I understand you only have two strings.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Hastings, New Zealand
    Posts
    45
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Data wiring configuration

    Quote Originally Posted by K-State Fan View Post
    In your xLights set up you have 8 strings but the way I understand you only have two strings.
    I am using 8 5meter bent in half strips but 2 connections to the controller.

    Sent from my YAL-L21 using Tapatalk

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Hastings, New Zealand
    Posts
    45
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Data wiring configuration

    Quote Originally Posted by MartinMueller2003 View Post
    Make sure that at the top of the tree you are using data plus V- as you go from strip to strip. You cant count on the inter-strip ground at the bottom of the tree to provide the data reference path. It is too far away. I also noticed that at the bottom of the tree you do not have a dedicated signal ground between strips. This will be ok if you are keeping the power injection wires between the strips short (less than a few feet). If you are actually doing a run back to the PSU at the bottom of each strip then you will need a V- wire running in parallel with the data wire between the strips.
    The top is still joined as each strip is bent over to come back down.

    Sent from my YAL-L21 using Tapatalk

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Hudson MA
    Posts
    3,906
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Data wiring configuration

    Ah. Perfect.


    2019 - Just moved into a new home (yet another change of plans). Will be dim but not dark. Too much to do at the new place to leave time for a show.
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyX...ttrsZNARkUce0Q

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Manhattan Kansas
    Posts
    259
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Data wiring configuration

    Quote Originally Posted by nzchristmas.nz View Post
    I am using 8 5meter bent in half strips but 2 connections to the controller.

    Sent from my YAL-L21 using Tapatalk
    So in xLights 2 strings

    If I understand your set up like attached images

    Capture1.JPG

    Capture2.JPG
    Last edited by K-State Fan; 11-11-2019 at 03:48 PM.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Hastings, New Zealand
    Posts
    45
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Data wiring configuration

    I got power into the strings and now the strips from the second one onwards has random colours. This appears to be coming from the sketch or the D1 Mini. As soon as I connect power to the tree they turn on even without the computer running. Interestly, the part that works correctly is the first 170 nodes. Here's a short video to show you.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Hastings, New Zealand
    Posts
    45
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Data wiring configuration

    Problems all sorted. Here's a video of the result.https://youtu.be/iBllIS7s8M4

    Sent from my YAL-L21 using Tapatalk

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •