Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: please Help with Ron's four output controller

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Clinton Twp. Michigan
    Posts
    129
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default please Help with Ron's four output controller

    Well I got one of Ron's 4 output controllers this summer. I build it and all was going well until I tried to control my pixel tree. I blew the controller. I have a new one on order. I was hoping someone could help me make I don't blow the new one. I have a 180 deg 10 roll of pixel tree with 4 signal points coming off the controller. I am using Vixen software

    Line 1 has 135 ws2811
    Line 2 has 135 ws2811
    Line 3 has 135 ws2811
    Line 4 has 45 ws2811

    I am using a 12v 30A Power supply. The controller says it will handle 3 amp per output. I am not sure if I blew it or if the power surge that I had blew it. I did have it working great a few times before it blew. Any help would be appreciated. Trying to get it working so I can use it this year.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    1,879
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: please Help with Ron's four output controller

    135 X 12v pixels = 97w (.72wX135)
    135/12= around 8amps
    This is at 100%...
    When you say you blew the board, did you just mean the fuses?
    You can always just run data to the pixels and power inject.
    Do you get the red light when you only have the 5v powering the board? I better ask this as well.....you did only supply 5v to the board right?
    There are 2 X 2 pin power connections on the board, one is for pixel power and the other is for the board itself. The board needs 5v only...
    rons.JPG
    Phil

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Sauk City, WI USA
    Posts
    2,122
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: please Help with Ron's four output controller

    Did you have smoke?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Clinton Twp. Michigan
    Posts
    129
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: please Help with Ron's four output controller

    I did connect the 5v and I did see some smoke It was working great then I lost power to the controller after that it would not get a signal at the input. After checking it out and bench checking I saw smoke, so I thing it is dead. I did not know I could just get a signal from the controller. Now that I know l can gust get the signal from the controller when I get the new one I will power inject instead of going thought the controller. I did not blow a fuse there are no fuses on this controller that I know of.as I said I did have it working for a short time before it went.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Sauk City, WI USA
    Posts
    2,122
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: please Help with Ron's four output controller

    do you have scorch marks? If you can identify what toasted, you can probably replace. Take a good hi res pix of both sides of board. Someone will be able to guide you on getting it working. Before that step though, need to determine as best you can why it happened. If it was user error, a solder bridge, stray wire, whatever, root cause before throwing good parts at it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Clinton Twp. Michigan
    Posts
    129
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: please Help with Ron's four output controller

    It was said that I could run the pixel tree with the signal data only and power inject. Would you know do I need to run the ground from the pixels to the controller ground also? Or do inject I set the controller as you would and power inject along the way to cut down my amps going thought the controller.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Clinton Twp. Michigan
    Posts
    129
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: please Help with Ron's four output controller

    Well another year for my mega tree. Last year I have 180 deg 10 roll pixel tree with 4 signal points coming off Ron's four output controller. I am using Vixen software. I also ran the power straight to the to the inputs. I am add 6 more rolls for a total of 16. I am going to add another 12v power supply also. I see that I can get 16 universes from this controller but not sure how that is done. Also when having two power supply's how do I connect them? I will doing some power injection not sure were.

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Sauk City, WI USA
    Posts
    2,122
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: please Help with Ron's four output controller

    The power injection question is the same...if you are powering the strings separately, continue to do that. The first 8 strings on one PSU, the second 8 string on the second one.

    I don't have one of these boards...it looks like 16 universes are baked into the code. It is actually 24 universes in revision D. So, it depends on your revision. From the manual for a base address of zero with rev D...
    Output 1 - universe 32, 33
    Output 2 - universe 34, 35
    Output 3 - universe 36, 37
    Output 4 - universe 38, 39
    Output 5 - universe 40, 41
    Output 6 - universe 42,,43
    Output 7 - universe 44, 45
    Output 8 - universe 46, 47
    Output 9 - universe 48
    Output 10 - universe 49
    Output 11 - universe 50
    Output 12 - universe 51
    Output 13 - universe 52
    Output 14 - universe 53
    Output 15 - universe 54
    Output 16 - universe 55

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Clinton Twp. Michigan
    Posts
    129
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: please Help with Ron's four output controller

    This is what I am think
    Line 1 135 ws2811 universe 16
    Line 2 135 ws2811 universe 17
    Line 3 135 ws2811 universe 20
    Line 4 135 ws2811 universe 21
    Line 5 135 ws2811 universe 24
    Line 6 45 ws2811 universe 28
    I think that is right. There are only 4 connections on the controller do I put 2 pigtails on output 1 and 2 for universe 16,17
    1 pigtail on 3 and 4 for universe 24,28?
    With 2 12v power supply's I think I read to connect all the V- together and not the V+ together is that right? Should I run V+ from power supply 1 to Line 1,2,3 and the other power supply to line 4,5,6
    Also thinking power injecting every 135 pixels

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    1,879
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: please Help with Ron's four output controller

    The 4 output controller only has 4 outputs, that means it can output 4 universes for each port.
    If you want to add more pixels you have to add onto the props off each output, until you max out the universe/pixel count per output.
    Here is how I have one setup....
    1st output is Universe 80 to 83, I have a total of 365 pixels on that output and only using Universes 80, 81, and 82.
    2nd output is Universe 84-87, I have a total of 285 pixels on that output and using Universes 84 and 85.
    When you set this up it uses a block of 16 contiguous universes, so in my case:
    Output 1 U 80-83
    Output 2 U 84-87
    Output 3 U 88-91
    Output 4 U 92-95
    You set the starting Universe using the DIP switches.
    Phil

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •