Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: FPP Channel Outputs Setup Question

Post Thanks / Like

Default FPP Channel Outputs Setup Question

This is my first year working with FPP and Raspberry Pi's. Last year I had my show all working with a Ubiquiti Nano AP with a Linksys Router, and all the controllers using ESP8266. This year I am adding a 2 sided 1X2 P10 Matrix Tune To sign. My plan is to have the main show running on a RPi 3B+ and the sign on a RPi Zero W. The 3B will be connected to the router and then the Zero of course will be WiFi. My understanding is that I set these up as a Master/Remote. So now that I have given a description of my setup. From reading the FPP manual I am confused about about the channel output setup. My show Pi will have 14 universes. Should it also include the Matrix universes or just the lights it is controlling directly? My sequences are exports from Vixen V3.6u2. I have 2 sequences for each song. One for the lights and one for the sign (marquee of the song name along with the FM station). My show project has the matrix addressed as well as the show. The sign project is just the matrix. Currently I have the show pi set up with all 26 universes. Thanks for the help.
    Dave-800Px-20KLts

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: FPP Channel Outputs Setup Question

I put the entire show onto each PI and then configure each PI to output a specific set of channels. The Master/Remote works by sending synch packets to the remotes (among other things). These sync packets tell the Remote PIs where the master is in the sequence (AKA I am going to play time slice 3256 in 1 second). The remote PIs use that information to output their data from the sequence at the right moment. FYI: WiFi adds delay to this process so your sign may be a bit behind.

2019 - Just moved into a new home (yet another change of plans). Will be dim but not dark. Too much to do at the new place to leave time for a show.
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyX...ttrsZNARkUce0Q