Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: What Mp3 board are you using .

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6,010
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default What Mp3 board are you using .

    This has probably been asked numerous times before but I thought I would see what folks are currently using .
    There seems to be a wide variety available both in capabilities , support and price range .

    I have found one really cheap without support and one that seems common .
    Any suggestions ?

    Cheap



    http://www.mdfly.com/products/sd-car...rs232-ttl.html

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Hudson MA
    Posts
    3,811
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What Mp3 board are you using .

    I would guess that most of us do not use such a device. The show players tend to have built in MP3/MP4 decoding. Some of us that use things like a raspberry PI as a show player also add an external audio DAC / amplifier. The reason for this is that the player needs to keep the audio and the lighting in sync. Using a stand alone player (such as the ones you identified) typically results in independant audio / lights which, for many of us, is not the goal.


    2019 - Just moved into a new home (yet another change of plans). Will be dim but not dark. Too much to do at the new place to leave time for a show.
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyX...ttrsZNARkUce0Q

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6,010
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What Mp3 board are you using .

    Thank you for your reply Martin .
    Sorry , I should have been a little more specific . The mp3 player will not be used for show sequence , but for embedding in a prop that is independent and will only play when triggered .

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    MD, USA
    Posts
    1,079
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What Mp3 board are you using .

    I had a lot of issues with the MDfly and had to abandon it for my Holiday Hotline project. I switched to the one in the link below and really like it for Android. I am using it again this year for my singing skulls.

    https://www.dfrobot.com/product-1121.html

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
    ~Jason
    [URL]http://www.tooz.us[/URL]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6,010
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What Mp3 board are you using .

    Quote Originally Posted by toozie21 View Post
    I had a lot of issues with the MDfly and had to abandon it for my Holiday Hotline project. I switched to the one in the link below and really like it for Android. I am using it again this year for my singing skulls.

    https://www.dfrobot.com/product-1121.html

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
    Thanks

    I went ahead and ordered 10 of them here

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    MD, USA
    Posts
    1,079
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What Mp3 board are you using .

    Quote Originally Posted by angus40 View Post
    Thanks

    I went ahead and ordered 10 of them here
    Good call. I probably bought mine on eBay, but that was the link I had on my webpage for the Holiday Hotline, so I pasted it.

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
    ~Jason
    [URL]http://www.tooz.us[/URL]

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    258
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What Mp3 board are you using .

    I picked up a few of the MDfly AU5017 boards a couple years ago for Halloween projects. The main issue was figuring out the hex codes to control it and build it into an Arduino sketch. They’re not well-documented. I think I posted sample code on hauntforum in the techno terror area.

    But Inagree they’re not the easiest to integrate into a project.
    Last edited by Kensington; 09-07-2019 at 10:31 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6,010
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What Mp3 board are you using .

    I could get them locally but their 3200 % markup seems a little steep .

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6,010
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What Mp3 board are you using .

    I received a few of these today .
    They are easy enough to load audio tracks ,even easier than using an a sd . Unfortunately they did not have documentation.
    I am assuming the I/O trigger pins are gnd switching as far as I can tell from what the notation on their web site states .

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6,010
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What Mp3 board are you using .

    Well I found some Documentation on this board and managed to get it working ! huha .

    What a treat to see this all come together . Using only 5 pins on the wemos and having 3 yet available .


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •