Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Bullet to Square not working

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Lombard, IL
    Posts
    655
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Bullet to Square not working

    I am confused. I am replacing my roof line with bullet pixels. I have older square pixels on my verticals. I have already tested, and it worked fine, a run that starts with square pixels then switches to bullet pixels. Basically half of my roof. I am now trying to get the other half to work. This starts with bullet pixels and ends with the square ones. This does not work. The square ones won't work. I've checked the square run by itself and it works fine. I've put extra bullet pixels at the end of the bullet run and they work. I confirmed that the 12v, GND, and Data lines are matched up. It just seems to stop at the transition point. Any suggestions?
    Last edited by mikeh65; 09-19-2019 at 08:05 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    13
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Bullet to Square not working

    If both Pixel runs work OK independently then check the end connectors for corrosion, check the end connectors for debris and try a shorter run of fewer pixels to verify the end connectors are OK.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Anchorage, AK
    Posts
    338
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Bullet to Square not working

    Could be an issue with the old timing protocol of the strings versus the new string protocol. It did change about 2 yrs ago. Instead of mixing strings on the same port, does the problem go away with all the same type of pixels on one port?
    Last edited by aknflyer; 09-20-2019 at 01:36 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Hudson MA
    Posts
    3,906
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Bullet to Square not working

    that protocol change only impacts the first pixel in the chain. After you get through a pixel or two the "idle" time is huge.


    2019 - Just moved into a new home (yet another change of plans). Will be dim but not dark. Too much to do at the new place to leave time for a show.
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyX...ttrsZNARkUce0Q

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Lombard, IL
    Posts
    655
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Bullet to Square not working

    Quote Originally Posted by vwbugjpt View Post
    If both Pixel runs work OK independently then check the end connectors for corrosion, check the end connectors for debris and try a shorter run of fewer pixels to verify the end connectors are OK.
    Connector is not an issue. Have direct wired to single square pixel at end or bullets, no go. Have direct wired left over bullets and they work fine. I don't think run length is an issue. Same controller and PS have had longer runs connected without issues. Current test is 43 Bullet Pixel that are to connect to 17 Square Pixels.
    Last edited by mikeh65; 09-20-2019 at 11:04 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Lombard, IL
    Posts
    655
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Bullet to Square not working

    Update, forget the issue. I flip flopped my verticals side to side. Just to test. That works. It might be something to do with the first Pixel on the one vertical, but if I have it and number one pixel all works fine. You got me, but it's working.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •