Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Problem running Vixen on a new PC

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Wales
    Posts
    56
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Problem running Vixen on a new PC

    Hi, I have just upgraded to a new PC and I am getting the following error message when I try to start Vixen."Profile is already in use or unable to the lock the profile."

    I have transferred all the files from my old PC which is running 32 bit Vixen. The new PC is running 64 bit Vixen.

    Hope someone can help me on this.

    Thanks,

    Mike

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Lebanon, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    2,628
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Problem running Vixen on a new PC

    Go to the profile directory you have loaded the files into and look for a ".lock" file. Delete it.
    Live, Laugh, Love.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Wales
    Posts
    56
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Problem running Vixen on a new PC

    A search for a ".lock" file does not find any files on either my old PC or the new one.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Lebanon, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    2,628
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Problem running Vixen on a new PC

    Interesting. Whenever I get that message, it has been the existence of a .lock file. Usually caused by not shutting down vixen before moving it. (We go back and forth between several computers.)

    The location of the ".lock" file in my system is shown here. My "show directory".

    Lock File Location.jpg

    Jeff? Jon? Anyone?
    Live, Laugh, Love.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Folsom, CA, USA
    Posts
    1,923
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Problem running Vixen on a new PC

    I don't recall seeing "or unable to the lock the profile." Is it possible you did not use the exact same directory and path when you created on new machine.
    In Lights Therapy

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Wales
    Posts
    56
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Problem running Vixen on a new PC

    I think you may have identified the problem. The old PC only had one hard drive C:. The new PC has two drives C: (solid state) and D: (hard disk). I have copied the Vixen files along with all the other data files onto the D: drive. How do I get Vixen to use the D: drive ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Lebanon, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    2,628
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Problem running Vixen on a new PC

    Sorry Mike. I've looked through the documentation, and also my notes, but can't find the method to start Vixen while over riding the startup settings. I thought when Vixen doesn't find the profile that was set for auto startup, it would prompt you for it, or at least ask you to modify the profile page.

    I just moved my profile directory, and received the message:
    Vixen Profile Missing.jpg
    After that, I was presented with the "Select a profile" window.
    At that point you choose "profile editor" and change the directory in the profile.
    Last edited by algerdes; 07-29-2019 at 12:31 PM.
    Live, Laugh, Love.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Folsom, CA, USA
    Posts
    1,923
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Problem running Vixen on a new PC

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike_Parks View Post
    I think you may have identified the problem. The old PC only had one hard drive C:. The new PC has two drives C: (solid state) and D: (hard disk). I have copied the Vixen files along with all the other data files onto the D: drive. How do I get Vixen to use the D: drive ?
    PM Sent
    In Lights Therapy

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Lebanon, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    2,628
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Problem running Vixen on a new PC

    When you guys get it fixed, please report what you did.
    Live, Laugh, Love.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Maryville, Illinois
    Posts
    1,564
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Problem running Vixen on a new PC

    That error message usually indicates that the .lock file is there. If you put everything on the D: drive on the new computer, then is should just open as a blank empty profile and the profiles on the D: drive would have to be added back in via the profile editor. The profile pointers are maintained in the users app data folder for Vixen, which most folks are not aware of. So when moving to another new PC that does not get transferred and then Vixen will not know about multiple profiles if they exist.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •