Thread: Power injecting led strip?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Power injecting led strip?

So, despite working with pixels for 3 seasons now, i've only every worked with bullet nodes in the 12v and 5v, ws2811. I've never worked with led string before. I was considering integrating some this season, and something dawned on me. It may be a ridiculous question, I don't know, but how exactly would you power inject led strip? With strings, you can splice in to the appropriate wire where needed. But with strips, i'm not even sure how that would work? I can't imagine trying to splice power wires in the middle of a strip, but remember, haven't worked with them before

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Power injecting led strip?

For long strips (5M) you inject at both ends from the SAME PSU. That way each injection point services one half of the string. For short strips (1M) you inject at either end of the strip. Both ends with same PSU are not needed (but would not hurt).

NOTE: Injecting into a single strip using multiple PSUs is not recommended without a special circuit that prevents the PSUs from trying to power each other.

2019 - Just moved into a new home (yet another change of plans). Will be dim but not dark. Too much to do at the new place to leave time for a show.
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyX...ttrsZNARkUce0Q

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by MartinMueller2003 View Post
    For long strips (5M) you inject at both ends from the SAME PSU. That way each injection point services one half of the string. For short strips (1M) you inject at either end of the strip. Both ends with same PSU are not needed (but would not hurt).

NOTE: Injecting into a single strip using multiple PSUs is not recommended without a special circuit that prevents the PSUs from trying to power each other.