Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Problem with Video sequence

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    20
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Problem with Video sequence

    I drag video icon to sequence then when I try to use my own video file( .avi format) a window pops up saying
    "reduce start time"
    How do you add a your own Video to vixen sequence?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Lizella, GA
    Posts
    1,380
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Problem with Video sequence

    How long is the Video and what is the run time of the sequence?
    Matt

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Chicago - Southwest Suburbs
    Posts
    7,665
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Problem with Video sequence

    Normally you would first add the video effect to the sequence and then select the video file in the effect edit for pane.

    However dragging in a video file to the timeline is a newer feature and should work. Since this method of adding it is a newer feature, it wouldn’t surprise me if you found a bug. What’s the length of the video file and of the sequence? Are you trying to add a video file that’s longer than the sequence length, or would where you’re dropping it would mean that it ends after the sequence end?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Lebanon, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    2,637
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Problem with Video sequence

    Jon, is the ".avi" format decoder built in?
    Live, Laugh, Love.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Chicago - Southwest Suburbs
    Posts
    7,665
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Problem with Video sequence

    I'm actually not sure off hand. And I'm not where i can test that for a bit. But I'm pretty sure we use ffmpeg in there to handle the conversions. That should handle all the common formats without issue.

    BTW, AVI is a container format, not a codec. It could use any number of supported codecs wrapped into an AVI container file. I know we can handle AVI containers, but the codec or format inside it may not be something that's supported by the ffmpeg version we have included in Vixen.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    20
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Problem with Video sequence

    I do add the video effect first to the sequence and then select the video file in the effect edit for pane. My video is 1 second long and in my video editing program(VSDC) I've tried exporting the video as Intel H264/AVC, MPEG4 and MPEG2. Same window pops for each of them "Invalid Start time. Decrease start time. Entered Start time plus Effect length is greater than video length of
    Stickman Running.avi "

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    359
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Problem with Video sequence

    Quote Originally Posted by df101 View Post
    I do add the video effect first to the sequence and then select the video file in the effect edit for pane. My video is 1 second long and in my video editing program(VSDC) I've tried exporting the video as Intel H264/AVC, MPEG4 and MPEG2. Same window pops for each of them "Invalid Start time. Decrease start time. Entered Start time plus Effect length is greater than video length of
    Stickman Running.avi "
    You stated the video file is only 1 sec long.
    But when you add the video effect it adds a 2 sec effect. So I think the problem is that you are trying to add a 1 sec video to a 2 sec effect.

    Adjust the effect length to 1 sec or less and try again.

    Jon, the new drag feature has not been merged in yet.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Chicago - Southwest Suburbs
    Posts
    7,665
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Problem with Video sequence

    Quote Originally Posted by Gnarmstr View Post
    .Jon, the new drag feature has not been merged in yet.
    Thanks. I lost track of that one.



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    20
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Problem with Video sequence

    I changed the video file to 2 seconds long, thought it would make it easier to see, and I made the video effect length 1 second. I dont get that error window popping up anymore saying"Decrease start time..." but I still dont see my video playing in preview window. Its a simple video file where the background changes from purple to blue.

    Appreciate the help. U guys are awesome

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    359
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Problem with Video sequence

    Quote Originally Posted by df101 View Post
    I changed the video file to 2 seconds long, thought it would make it easier to see, and I made the video effect length 1 second. I dont get that error window popping up anymore saying"Decrease start time..." but I still dont see my video playing in preview window. Its a simple video file where the background changes from purple to blue.

    Appreciate the help. U guys are awesome
    Add a link to the video file so I can grab it and check it out.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •