Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: What is everyone sequencing on?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    44
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default What is everyone sequencing on?

    I will probably need a new laptop to sequence on this year and was curious what everyone here was using?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Chambersburg, PA
    Posts
    678
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What is everyone sequencing on?

    What software are you using?

    How big is the display?

    I run xLights on a i7 3.4GHz desktop with 8 GB of RAM for a medium sized display.
    2012 - 1st year 64 Channels - 7500 LED lights - 5 sequences
    2013 - 128 Channels - 10,000 LED lights - 7 sequences (2 New)
    2014 - 201 Channels - upgrading 8 Arches to dumb RGB - 8+ sequences (1+ New)
    2015 - 240 Channels + 8 Universes - sequences TBD
    2016 - No Display
    2017 - Back in the Game - 240 Renard Channels + 12 Universes
    2018 - 256 Renard and 9 Falcon Outputs of Pixels - 16 sequences shown over 2 nights

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    44
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What is everyone sequencing on?

    Quote Originally Posted by TomL8345 View Post
    What software are you using?

    How big is the display?

    I run xLights on a i7 3.4GHz desktop with 8 GB of RAM for a medium sized display.

    I run Vixen and have about 128ish channels. Haven't made then jump to pixels yet. I run the show via FPP. I sequence using a very old HQ Netbook with a i3 and 2GB of RAM....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Plymouth, MN
    Posts
    9,156
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What is everyone sequencing on?

    I use a custom Dell computer with a custom button.

    easy_button.jpg

    http://digwdf.com/store/
    The DIGWDF Store has closed. Thanks to everyone who supported us through the nearly seven years we were open!
    The store will remain open for downloading documentation and other files.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    NW Suburbs of Chicago
    Posts
    138
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What is everyone sequencing on?

    I am using an older i5 8 gig ram , 3 monitors, works fine for me
    Last edited by mikel3332; 08-12-2019 at 12:26 PM. Reason: whoops, didn't notice it is a vixen thread
    Flash Flash Blink Blink,,Oh What A Relief It Is

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Lombard, IL
    Posts
    642
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What is everyone sequencing on?

    I run Vixen 3.5 on a i5 3.1GHz desktop with 16GB or ram, HDMI output to a 46" 4k LED television display

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    499
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What is everyone sequencing on?

    I sequence on an i7 quad-core 3.3Ghz desktop, 32 gigs of ram, dual 22" displays.

    I run my show off a Dell SC1425 dual Xeon 3.6Ghz 1U server, 16gb of ram, using VNC software for remote access. Getting a sound card into this machine (that worked) was a pain. Audio path is soundcard --> Behringer DEQ2496 --> FM Transmitter. The DEQ2496 is a digital EQ as well as a compressor/limiter.

    While not supported (and actively not recommended), c:\users\frederic\documents\Vixen3 is mapped on both machines to another server in my farm. Raid, backed up regularly, et al.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    83
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What is everyone sequencing on?

    Use vixen 3 with 96 channels on a CyberPowerPC - Gamer Ultra Desktop - AMD FX-Series - 8GB Memory - NVIDIA GeForce GT 730


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Chambersburg, PA
    Posts
    678
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What is everyone sequencing on?

    As your show grows Memory is going to be one of the most important items for your sequencing computer. The processor not so much. I would also recommend the ability to add multiple monitors. As others have posted I have two 27" Monitors on my sequencing computer.
    2012 - 1st year 64 Channels - 7500 LED lights - 5 sequences
    2013 - 128 Channels - 10,000 LED lights - 7 sequences (2 New)
    2014 - 201 Channels - upgrading 8 Arches to dumb RGB - 8+ sequences (1+ New)
    2015 - 240 Channels + 8 Universes - sequences TBD
    2016 - No Display
    2017 - Back in the Game - 240 Renard Channels + 12 Universes
    2018 - 256 Renard and 9 Falcon Outputs of Pixels - 16 sequences shown over 2 nights

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Hudson MA
    Posts
    3,574
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What is everyone sequencing on?

    6 core AMD PC with 32GB DDR3 DRAM, GFORCE 4GB DDR5 DRAM Video card, two 27" monitors with a 32" monitor between them. 14K pixels. Only minor lag on the displays.

    Run the show on a PI 2.


    2019 - Just moved into a new home (yet another change of plans). Will be dim but not dark. Too much to do at the new place to leave time for a show.
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyX...ttrsZNARkUce0Q

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •