Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: What is everyone sequencing on?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    44
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default What is everyone sequencing on?

    I will probably need a new laptop to sequence on this year and was curious what everyone here was using?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Chambersburg, PA
    Posts
    677
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What is everyone sequencing on?

    What software are you using?

    How big is the display?

    I run xLights on a i7 3.4GHz desktop with 8 GB of RAM for a medium sized display.
    2012 - 1st year 64 Channels - 7500 LED lights - 5 sequences
    2013 - 128 Channels - 10,000 LED lights - 7 sequences (2 New)
    2014 - 201 Channels - upgrading 8 Arches to dumb RGB - 8+ sequences (1+ New)
    2015 - 240 Channels + 8 Universes - sequences TBD
    2016 - No Display
    2017 - Back in the Game - 240 Renard Channels + 12 Universes
    2018 - 256 Renard and 9 Falcon Outputs of Pixels - 16 sequences shown over 2 nights

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    NW Suburbs of Chicago
    Posts
    138
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What is everyone sequencing on?

    I am using an older i5 8 gig ram , 3 monitors, works fine for me
    Last edited by mikel3332; 08-12-2019 at 12:26 PM. Reason: whoops, didn't notice it is a vixen thread
    Flash Flash Blink Blink,,Oh What A Relief It Is

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Lombard, IL
    Posts
    642
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What is everyone sequencing on?

    I run Vixen 3.5 on a i5 3.1GHz desktop with 16GB or ram, HDMI output to a 46" 4k LED television display

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    499
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What is everyone sequencing on?

    I sequence on an i7 quad-core 3.3Ghz desktop, 32 gigs of ram, dual 22" displays.

    I run my show off a Dell SC1425 dual Xeon 3.6Ghz 1U server, 16gb of ram, using VNC software for remote access. Getting a sound card into this machine (that worked) was a pain. Audio path is soundcard --> Behringer DEQ2496 --> FM Transmitter. The DEQ2496 is a digital EQ as well as a compressor/limiter.

    While not supported (and actively not recommended), c:\users\frederic\documents\Vixen3 is mapped on both machines to another server in my farm. Raid, backed up regularly, et al.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    44
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What is everyone sequencing on?

    Quote Originally Posted by TomL8345 View Post
    What software are you using?

    How big is the display?

    I run xLights on a i7 3.4GHz desktop with 8 GB of RAM for a medium sized display.

    I run Vixen and have about 128ish channels. Haven't made then jump to pixels yet. I run the show via FPP. I sequence using a very old HQ Netbook with a i3 and 2GB of RAM....

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    83
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What is everyone sequencing on?

    Use vixen 3 with 96 channels on a CyberPowerPC - Gamer Ultra Desktop - AMD FX-Series - 8GB Memory - NVIDIA GeForce GT 730


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Chambersburg, PA
    Posts
    677
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What is everyone sequencing on?

    As your show grows Memory is going to be one of the most important items for your sequencing computer. The processor not so much. I would also recommend the ability to add multiple monitors. As others have posted I have two 27" Monitors on my sequencing computer.
    2012 - 1st year 64 Channels - 7500 LED lights - 5 sequences
    2013 - 128 Channels - 10,000 LED lights - 7 sequences (2 New)
    2014 - 201 Channels - upgrading 8 Arches to dumb RGB - 8+ sequences (1+ New)
    2015 - 240 Channels + 8 Universes - sequences TBD
    2016 - No Display
    2017 - Back in the Game - 240 Renard Channels + 12 Universes
    2018 - 256 Renard and 9 Falcon Outputs of Pixels - 16 sequences shown over 2 nights

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Hudson MA
    Posts
    3,571
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What is everyone sequencing on?

    6 core AMD PC with 32GB DDR3 DRAM, GFORCE 4GB DDR5 DRAM Video card, two 27" monitors with a 32" monitor between them. 14K pixels. Only minor lag on the displays.

    Run the show on a PI 2.


    2019 - Just moved into a new home (yet another change of plans). Will be dim but not dark. Too much to do at the new place to leave time for a show.
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyX...ttrsZNARkUce0Q

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Maryville, Illinois
    Posts
    1,488
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: What is everyone sequencing on?

    I have an i5-4590 3.3Ghz 4 Core with 24GB memory, 500GB SSD, onboard Intel video w/pair 20" wide monitors. I develop and sequence on that same setup. I run my show from 3 Raspberry Pi 3's running FPP.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •