Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 29

Thread: Xlights with ESP2866 NodeMCU

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    86
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Xlights with ESP2866 NodeMCU

    Quote Originally Posted by nzchristmas.nz View Post
    I thought about that. I downloaded it and ran the flash tool, but I couldn't get the NodeMCU into programming mode.
    If its the best way forward I can invest some time in sorting that out.

    Thanks for the reply
    The Arduino IDE puts the NocdMCU into program mode when downloading code. When I used the esp flash tool I had to press the program buttom on the NodeMCU for the flash tool to work.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Batesburg, SC
    Posts
    71
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Xlights with ESP2866 NodeMCU

    possibly unrelated....
    Ive gotten a similar flickering like in the video. I put a resistor between the data pin and ground.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Hastings, New Zealand
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Xlights with ESP2866 NodeMCU

    My flickering went away once the code was corrected. Thanks Angus40

  4. #14
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Xlights with ESP2866 NodeMCU

    Hi,
    Two questions,

    1. Did you have to level shift the data output pins to 5v to control 12v pixels?

    2. On the unicast code, what line do you set the IP address?

    Thanks,
    Alexander


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    5,800
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Xlights with ESP2866 NodeMCU

    Is your nodemcu getting an ip via DHCP ? If yes , you only config your ip in your sequencer .

    Or are you wanting a static ip ? Is yes, you can add additional code to configure ip, subnet and gateway .

    edit: I added static ip ability to the code .
    Last edited by angus40; 08-13-2019 at 12:11 AM.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Xlights with ESP2866 NodeMCU

    Thank you so much. I wouldn’t have been able to write that on my own.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Hastings, New Zealand
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Xlights with ESP2866 NodeMCU

    Quote Originally Posted by Alexander14 View Post
    Hi,
    Two questions,

    1. Did you have to level shift the data output pins to 5v to control 12v pixels?

    2. On the unicast code, what line do you set the IP address?

    Thanks,
    Alexander


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Answers in bold.
    1. Did you have to level shift the data output pins to 5v to control 12v pixels? Not the short ones. My star is 6 meters away from the controller and on testing it looks like I will have to use one. I have one on order and will test in the weekend. I'll let you know how I get on.

    2. On the unicast code, what line do you set the IP address? As per the new code at post #7 I also set it in my router.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    5,800
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Xlights with ESP2866 NodeMCU

    In testing static ip , I noticed that the first pixel was initializing and staying on .

    So I added pin initialize status to the code which seems to have corrected the issue .

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Hastings, New Zealand
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Xlights with ESP2866 NodeMCU

    First of all, thanks to everyone's input into this code, especially Angus40.

    I think I'm on the final stretch to finishing testing before I install the lights and controller etc.
    But I'm struggling to get my head around something that should be fairly simple. Channel mapping.

    I can't get the xlights sequence to play from my roofline which is 4x 150 pixel each led strips to then my Roof star 1 string 123 pixels.
    Yet separately they work, that is if I program and plug just the roofline OR the star into my controller on either Pin D1 OR D2 they work as they should.

    But If I program Roof on D1 and Star on D2 OR Star on D1 and roof on D2 whatever is on D2 doesn't light up as it should.
    Sometimes only part of the strip lights up or even nothing at all depending on I do with the code channel numbers and universe numbers.


    Does anyone have any ideas? Am I entering the numbers in all the right places?

    The way I see it there are three places to configure the channels.

    Two in the code
    code 1.png
    code 2.png
    One in Xlights
    xlights channels.png

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    5,800
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Xlights with ESP2866 NodeMCU

    It looks like your universe channel config is wrong >> code 2 png and the others may not start where you want them . Universe #2 chan_start 901 and has 1099 channels which is to many .
    You also skipped 450 channels with the 901 start .

    1 Universe can only be 170 pixels *3 for channel count which maxes out to 510 channels .

    universe 1 >start 1
    150 pixels universe 2 . start 511
    " " universe 3 > 1021

    and
    so
    on
    !

    Ps. a large abacus may come in handy lol
    Last edited by angus40; 08-19-2019 at 09:42 PM.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •