Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: ModuleStore Corrupt error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Gaithersburg, MD
    Posts
    225
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default ModuleStore Corrupt error

    Hi,

    Is there anyway to recover from a ModuleCorrupt.xml error? A few months ago I added and rearranged my elements and now the only copy does not retrieve the info. I am on Vixen 3.5.4 (latest build) and the error log reads:

    04/21/2019 08:11:11.936 [Vixen.IO.Xml.XElementFileReader] Error loading 'C:\Users\Santa\Documents\Vixen 3\SystemData\ModuleStore.xml'. System.Xml.XmlException: '.', hexadecimal value 0x00, is an invalid character. Line 26566, position 49.

    Looking at the xml file before it gets parsed I see this - see image for w/ I c/p it does not paste as seen.vixen.jpg
    Last edited by MikelMD; 04-21-2019 at 08:59 AM.
    2016 Migrating to Vixen 3.2
    Vixen 2.5x
    120 Channels
    2015 5 RenardSS24 @ 20,600 lights
    2014 5 RenardSS24 @ 18,600 lights
    2013 3 RenardSS24 @ 9,900 lights
    2012 2 RenardSS24 @ 6,000 lights
    2011 began researching
    [url]www.KentlandsChristmas.com[/url]

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Maryville, Illinois
    Posts
    1,711
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: ModuleStore Corrupt error

    The Color tag in the middle of the image with all the odd characters is corrupt. You can duplicate that line with the opening color tag from another one that is below there that is correct and see if that solves it. Make sure you have backups of everything before you go further. If that does not work, you can zip up the profile and upload it to something like dropbox or google drive and attach a link to it in a problem ticket at bugs.vixenlights.com. I can take a look at it and see if I can correct it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Gaithersburg, MD
    Posts
    225
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default ModuleStore Corrupt error

    Thank you for the offer. It took me less than 40 minutes to fix my issues. My old backup was not too bad.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    2016 Migrating to Vixen 3.2
    Vixen 2.5x
    120 Channels
    2015 5 RenardSS24 @ 20,600 lights
    2014 5 RenardSS24 @ 18,600 lights
    2013 3 RenardSS24 @ 9,900 lights
    2012 2 RenardSS24 @ 6,000 lights
    2011 began researching
    [url]www.KentlandsChristmas.com[/url]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    257
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: ModuleStore Corrupt error

    I have a similar issue but it's line 1 position 1 for both modulestore and system config. Vixen froze on me after making several display edits.

    Attempting to use the _backup files for those isn't working, opening Vixen Display edtior corrupts those. They pass an xml checker before I open Vixen display editor, and fail it afterwards. I can try to correct them, and it's just a repeat game with new errors introduced in different lines. Uninstalled / reinstalled Vixen. My display is very complicated. I have not backed up profile in a while and I'm learning OneDrive is not what I thought it was.

    Anything for me to try? Just got a new 118 pixel element installed on house for big night, so deflating.
    Last edited by Cmschleich; 12-14-2019 at 07:55 AM.
    youtu.be/nBL9qYPaXwQ

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Maryville, Illinois
    Posts
    1,711
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: ModuleStore Corrupt error

    Upload the profile to a dropbox and shoot me the link. I can see if I can correct it.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    257
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: ModuleStore Corrupt error

    Thanks for offer. I've sent a few messages but don't see record of them in my DIYC account. Receive any of them?
    youtu.be/nBL9qYPaXwQ

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Maryville, Illinois
    Posts
    1,711
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: ModuleStore Corrupt error

    Quote Originally Posted by Cmschleich View Post
    Thanks for offer. I've sent a few messages but don't see record of them in my DIYC account. Receive any of them?
    I got it, but there is very bizarre corruption in several of them with sequence data mixed in. I am not sure how that can happen. I did find a couple in the backup folder that look a bit more correct, but significant portions of those are missing as well. I am going to poke around with a bit more, but it's not looking like I will be able to fix it.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •