Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Transferring my profile to another computer

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    31
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Transferring my profile to another computer

    ok so I'm having issues getting this done. So I go System, select Profile and try using the zip wizard to zip my profile to a USB drive that I then want to transfer over to my new computer.
    The zip is not working , it tells me "the stream is to long" .
    So I tried just coping the the vixen 3 folder under my documents and bringing it over to my new computer. So on the new computer I go System , select profile and then what....?
    Do I need to add a new profile or can I just change the folder where to look for my other one that I copied over?
    I can open sequence just navigating to where my copied profile is but when I open it in Vixen it tells the audio is not there and plus the whole time line is blank with no effects shown.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Townsville Aus
    Posts
    44
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Transferring my profile to another computer

    I have been using vixen on two computers for a few years. All I ever do is copy the entire profile folder onto a USB and paste it onto the other computer and replace the files. I do that back and forth and have never had a drama. I do make sure that both Vixens are up to date. I did have dramas last year due to the sheer size so I started leaving out the Media folder (had a heap of Halloween videos in it) and just took what I needed.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Maryville, Illinois
    Posts
    1,446
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Transferring my profile to another computer

    If you are using multiple profiles and are copying one besides the default Vixen 3 profile, you will need to copy it to the new machine in the my documents just like it was on the source machine and then create a new profile in the profile wizard and point it to the folder where you copied it across. Creating the profile target tells Vixen its name and where it is.

    After it is established, you can just clone it over to update it if you are keeping two machines in sync.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Morganton,North Carolina
    Posts
    1,609
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Transferring my profile to another computer

    I save my profile in c://vixen on the main pc and in c://vixen on the pc in the shed where I do most of my sequencing. I use Nextcloud on a PI as network storage and I just copy over any changes I do to the Vixen folder on the Nextcloud and then I can copy any changes to that folder no matter if I do it in the house or the shed. I just point both PCs to the same directory and I have no issues. Since Nextcloud is on my home network,copying things over is quick.
    (1)Falcon PI Player (Running the show)
    (1)Falcon F16V3
    (1)Renard SS16
    (1)Renard SS24
    (1)EDM-LCD-CS-EP
    (20)P10 Panels



    WIKI
    Become A Supporting Member

    Falcon Christmas
    Renard Controllers


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    31
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Transferring my profile to another computer

    Hmm. I'm sure I pasted the copied vixen3 folder in the same spot as it would be on the original computer. Maybe I messed up so I will try it again, thanks for all the input

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    31
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Transferring my profile to another computer

    Ok, so what I did was copy my Vixen 3 folder onto a usb drive from the old computer, I transfer it to the new computer, delete the Vixen 3 folder on the new computer and then replace it with the copied one. When I open vixen It tells me that the default profile and the one I transferred over are locked and I'm forced to make a new profile. I tried coping all the files to the new profile and again when I open Vixen it tells me it's locked and I can't open it,

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Winter Haven Florida
    Posts
    2,995
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Transferring my profile to another computer

    look in the files for that profile and see if you have a file called lock delete that
    James WinterHaven Fl

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    31
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Transferring my profile to another computer

    James once again you have saved the day, deleting lock file did the trick, THANKS!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Lebanon, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    2,422
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Transferring my profile to another computer

    "Deleting the lock file." That is one you will not forget, and will use from time to time. :|
    Live, Laugh, Love.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Maryville, Illinois
    Posts
    1,446
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Transferring my profile to another computer

    As Taz mentioned, delete the lock file, but make sure you have Vixen shutdown when you make the zip of the profile. It was likely running when you did that and that is why the lock file is there.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •