Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 45

Thread: No Range at All.. Not Even 12 Inches...

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Hicksville, New York
    Posts
    87
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: No Range at All.. Not Even 12 Inches...

    Quote Originally Posted by esmiller View Post
    Which one is that? Cannot find it listed in their information.. must be missing it !
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/DSP-PLL-87-...item3f6747d0c1

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Lizella, GA
    Posts
    1,290
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: No Range at All.. Not Even 12 Inches...

    Just make sure you solder at least a 29.5" wire to that ANT connection. I am just using a single wire (solid) from a network cable. Mine has served me well for 3 years now. Goes for several 100' about an 1/8 of a mile clear.

    Capture.JPG Capture.JPG
    Last edited by Ruppro; 02-07-2019 at 09:47 PM.
    Matt

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    4,201
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: No Range at All.. Not Even 12 Inches...

    Also, at that price, you should buy two so you have a spare.

  4. Likes Ruppro liked this post
  5. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    300
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: No Range at All.. Not Even 12 Inches...

    Quote Originally Posted by ukewarrior View Post
    Also, at that price, you should buy two so you have a spare.
    This is good advice. I used one of these for a couple of years and then the USB connector came off in the middle of December. I had to scramble for a spare. Fortunately another member was nice enough to sell me one.

  6. #25
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Hicksville, New York
    Posts
    87
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: No Range at All.. Not Even 12 Inches...

    Quote Originally Posted by Ruppro View Post
    Just make sure you solder at least a 29.5" wire to that ANT connection. I am just using a single wire (solid) from a network cable. Mine has served me well for 3 years now. Goes for several 100' about an 1/8 of a mile clear.

    Capture.JPG Capture.JPG
    Will do.


    Quote Originally Posted by dcamron View Post
    This is good advice. I used one of these for a couple of years and then the USB connector came off in the middle of December. I had to scramble for a spare. Fortunately another member was nice enough to sell me one.
    Thank you all for your kind help!

  7. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Lizella, GA
    Posts
    1,290
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: No Range at All.. Not Even 12 Inches...

    Also beware of knock-offs, I ordered a couple for spares (different vendor) and when they came in they were not exactly as pictured (which my 1st one was and worked flawlessly), they would not show up as a sound device when you connected the USB, they only work when you plugin an audio cable. Ordered a couple more from my original vendor and they are the ones pictured and have no issues

    bad ones are w/o antenna, the good one has the antenna attached. You can see the different board size, component layout is different.

    WP_20160523_002.jpg WP_20160523_004.jpg
    Matt

  8. #27
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Hicksville, New York
    Posts
    87
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: No Range at All.. Not Even 12 Inches...

    Quote Originally Posted by Ruppro View Post
    Also beware of knock-offs, I ordered a couple for spares (different vendor) and when they came in they were not exactly as pictured (which my 1st one was and worked flawlessly), they would not show up as a sound device when you connected the USB, they only work when you plugin an audio cable. Ordered a couple more from my original vendor and they are the ones pictured and have no issues

    bad ones are w/o antenna, the good one has the antenna attached. You can see the different board size, component layout is different.

    WP_20160523_002.jpg WP_20160523_004.jpg
    Pretty sure that is the one I got. The one with the antenna.

  9. #28
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Lizella, GA
    Posts
    1,290
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: No Range at All.. Not Even 12 Inches...

    Yea, They all use the same picture, even the 2 "bad" ones. It was just that when they arrived they were "not as advertised". I did get a refund and the vendor did not want them back, so it all ended well.

    Sent from my ASUS_A009 using Tapatalk
    Matt

  10. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Chambersburg, PA
    Posts
    651
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: No Range at All.. Not Even 12 Inches...

    I used those for my 2017 show flawlessly. I also had bought a second as a back up. I was running FPP 1.8 at the time. This year when I went to use the same setup the sound was terrible, on both previously used and tested transmitters. The only thing that was different for me was I was now running FPP2.5x. Did anyone have sucess using these transmitters with RasPi running FPP 2.x?
    2012 - 1st year 64 Channels - 7500 LED lights - 5 sequences
    2013 - 128 Channels - 10,000 LED lights - 7 sequences (2 New)
    2014 - 201 Channels - upgrading 8 Arches to dumb RGB - 8+ sequences (1+ New)
    2015 - 240 Channels + 8 Universes - sequences TBD
    2016 - No Display
    2017 - Back in the Game - 240 Renard Channels + 12 Universes
    2018 - 256 Renard and 9 Falcon Outputs of Pixels - 16 sequences shown over 2 nights

  11. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    309
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: No Range at All.. Not Even 12 Inches...

    Quote Originally Posted by TomL8345 View Post
    I used those for my 2017 show flawlessly. I also had bought a second as a back up. I was running FPP 1.8 at the time. This year when I went to use the same setup the sound was terrible, on both previously used and tested transmitters. The only thing that was different for me was I was now running FPP2.5x. Did anyone have sucess using these transmitters with RasPi running FPP 2.x?
    Yup—I used those last year as well. No problems

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •